Cherry pie (whole grain) pancakes – it’s what’s for brinner!

Raise of hands – how many of you are brinner lovers aka breakfast for dinner lovers? Ironically, despite being a dietitian, my meals are generally all over the place. I’ve been to known to make black bean brownies for the sole purpose of eating them for breakfast (and yes, this has happened on multiple occasions). I tend to not like breakfast foods for breakfast and prefer them, well, any other time of the day. And  So I came up with this recipe to kind of convince myself to actually eat breakfast for, well,  breakfast. It’s a combination of my favorite worlds – breakfast mixed with dessert but “healthified”. Because that’s what I do. I experiment in the kitchen so you don’t have to 😉

These cherry pie pancakes are incredibly simple to make but also incredibly flavorful and satisfying. I admit I did cheat with the pancakes and rather than making them from scratch I did use a mix (holla Bob’s Red Mill). If you opt to go with a pre-made mix, my go-to mixes are Bob’s Red Mill, Kodiak Cakes (especially the protein power mixes), and if you’re gluten free, Pamela’s pancake mixes are excellent. Plus, pamela’s even offers a sprouted pancake line which makes me really happy (yay for more bioavailable nutrients). All of these brands are great because they do focus on whole grains while still tasting amazing.

#RDtip: Make at least half of your grains whole! Refined grains have the brans and germ removed which is where many of the nutrients are located. In fact, the process of removing the bran and germ removes up to a quarter of the protein and 50-70% or more of its nutrients. Whole grains remain intact so they offer b vitamins, antioxidants, and fiber. Plus, incorporating whole grains into your diet can reduce type 2 diabetes risk and heart disease risk by up to 30%! Aim for at least 48g of whole grains per day. Look for the whole grain stamp to ensure you’re eating a whole grain. Looks like:

Aim for the 100% whole grain stamp which ensures that all of the grains in the product are whole grains and that each serving contains at least 16g (a full serving) of whole grains!

Ok, so back to the recipe! As mentioned above, I opted to use Bob’s Red Mill buttermilk whole grain pancake mix (which offers up to 40g whole grains per serving!). I followed the directions for the pancakes then while they were cooling, I made my cherry pie inspired topping:

Cherry Pie topping

  • 1/2 cup dark, sweet cherries (I found frozen works best for this)
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • water

In a small saucepan, add cherries, sugar, and just enough water to cover the cherries. Stir in cornstarch then let sit over medium heat. Stir constantly. Mixture should start to thicken within a few minutes. If it becomes too thick too quickly, add a little water at a time until reaches desired consistency. Remove from heat, let cool slightly, then pour on top of pancakes. I added a dollop of greek yogurt and a sprinkle of hemp seeds on top for those heart healthy ALA omega 3’s.

Question of the day: What is your favorite breakfast to actually eat for breakfast? What is your favorite brinner?

Share your thoughts :)

