Chocolate covered cherry trail mix bars


So in my last post I promised I had some new recipes to share with you guys so here’s the first one – chocolate covered cherry trail mix bars! This has been my go to snack bar recipe for the last couple months and I am utterly obsessed!! I have been playing around with various nut butters and ingredients and this combo has been my favorite! I use homemade cashew butter as the base then added in tart cherries and some dark chocolate chips to bring it all together.

Not only are these bars filled with nutrient dense ingredients but they taste amazing and are a wonderful snack to help get you through the long day. I love bringing these to work to get me through long shifts.

Chocolate covered cherry Trail mix bars – makes 8 bars 

– 3/4 cup homemade cashew butter

– 1/3 cup honey

– 1/4 cup unsweetened baking cocoa

– 1/3 cup hemp hearts, chia seeds, *flax seeds (I use a mix)

– 1 /2 cup dried no sugar added cherries

– 1 1/2 cups oats

– 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

*If you are looking for the heart health benefits from flax seeds, go with ground flax. Whole flax, on the other hand, will help keep you regular.

Directions
In a food processor blend cashews until thick and creamy. Should take about 10 minutes for cashews to come together into a butter. Make sure to stop the processor and scrape the sides as needed. Once smooth, add honey, baking cocoa, and hemp/chia/flax mix. Blend for a few seconds just to bring mixture together. Add in cherries and oats and blend just until mixture comes together. Mix in chocolate chips. Press mixture into an oiled glass container. Let set in fridge for a few hours then cut into bars and enjoy. Makes about 8 bars.

Next up I have a couple product reviews for you guys so stay tuned for those along with some more recipes!

 

Share your thoughts :)

