Influnesters eat well, be well voxbox review 

So I was chosen by influenster as one of the lucky recipients of the eat well, be well voxbox. This box gave me the chance to try products/brands I’ve been wanting to try but admittedly was a little “afraid” to try because of price. As a healthcare professional, though, I like being able to try a large variety of foods and products. I don’t like recommending brands or products if I haven’t even tried them myself. Especially if the brands or products are more expensive. So “thank you” to influenster for giving my the opportunity to broaden my horizons a little.

So onto the box. The box included:

Glutino single serve gluten free pretzels (cals: 110, fat 3G, saturated fat 1.5g, sodium 450mg, carbs 22g – 2g fiber, 1g sugar, 0g protein): although a tad on the salty side for my tastes, these pretzels had a great crunch and flavor and were very satisfying. Would probably purchase if I had a hankering for pretzels. 8/10

The box also included coupon vouchers for earth balance, udis gluten free, and evol so I was able to pick out my own products from each brand. My picks below:



Udis gluten free cheese pizza (serving size 1/2 pizza – cals: 360, total fat: 15g (saturated: 9g), 35mg cholesterol, 570mg sodium, 45mg total carbs (2g fiber, 6g sugar), 12g protein) this was a thin style gluten free crust with a smattering of cheese and lots of basil. I’m not typically a huge fan of thin style crust pizza since I usually find them to be pretty bland and flavorless. And that was the case here, as well. Although the crust was light and crispy, it just didn’t have much flavor. But what actually turned me off most was the strong tasting basil. I’m under the impression this is meant to be more of a “gourmet” pizza buuuuut the basil was a tad too strong for my tastes. In addition, I felt like the sauce was on the sweeter side which is also something I’m not a big fan of.  Overall, edward and I agreed it was an okay tasting pizza but not something we would try again. 5/10
Evol truffle Mac and cheese (serving size 1 bowl: cal 390, total fat 20g (saturated 9g), 45mg cholesterol, 430mg sodium, 40g carbs (2g fiber, 5g sugar), 12g protein): Considering it was a frozen entree, I admit I didn’t have a lot of expectations going in.  But right off the bat I will say this Mac and cheese exceeded my expectations in terms of texture. It was actually very creamy and tasted more like a “gourmet” Mac and cheese. For a frozen entree, it actually was lower in sodium than I would have expected it to be so I was pleasantly surprised by that.

Pro tip: When it comes to sodium, a good rule of thumb is to keep your intake at about 500mg at each meal. It’s estimated that 90% of American adults are expected to develop high blood pressure so monitoring your daily sodium intake will greatly help you reduce your chances of developing hypertension and heart disease.

As for the flavor,the truffle really elevated the flavor and made this a very memorable dish. Would definitely purchase in the future. And will definitely be checking out more products from this company. 9/10

Earth balance: I had a really hard time finding earth balance products where I live so I had to settle for the butter. Admittedly not my first choice since earth balance makes a large range of products, including snacks like popcorn and crackers, but in the end we actually ended up needing butter so it worked out. Texture wise, it’s a little harder than the spread we usually use so I had to warm it up a bit before using so it wouldn’t destroy my bread. But flavor wise, I really liked it. It tasted fine and I really enjoyed using it for grilled cheese and topping pancakes.  Which is something I don’t even do with the “real” stuff so I feel like that’s saying a lot. Overall, would probably purchase again.8/10

Overall thoughts: I was pretty pleased with this box. I’ve actually been wanting to try most of these brands but hadn’t had the chance since they’re typically more expensive. I’m not sure if I would necessarily go out of my way to buy these products but I’ll be more open to purchasing them now that I’ve had the chance to try them out.

 

**Disclaimer: I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

Share your thoughts :)

