Chapul cricket protein bars review

So today’s product review is a little different. I’ve been hearing about cricket flour for quite awhile now in the foodie world but it wasn’t until I saw these bars in one of my nutrition magazines that I realized just how popular cricket flour had become. So I reached out to Chapul and they kindly offered to send me a sample pack of their bars so I could do a review for you guys!

So about these bars. They are dairy free, soy free, and all natural. Interestingly, crickets also contain all of the essential amino acids so they are a complete protein! In addition, crickets produce 1% of the greenhouse gases cows do and require a fraction of the water and land resources making them a more sustainable form of protein!

The bars come in 4 amazing sounding flavors – Chaco (peanut butter and chocolate), Aztec (dark chocolate, coffee, and cayenne), Thai (Coconut, ginger, and lime), and Matcha (Matcha tea, nori, and goji). Nutrition varies for each flavor so I will break down the nutrition for each bar down below:

  • Chaco: 220 cal, 8g total fat (1g saturated), 75mg sodium, 27g total carbs (3g fiber, 18g sugar), 8g protein
  • Aztec: 150 cal, 2g total fat (1g saturated), 123 mg sodium, 36g total carbs (7g fiber, 25g sugar), 5g protein
  • Thai: 190 cal, 8g total fat (3g saturated), 15mg sodium, 28g total carbs (4g fiber, 18g sugar), 8g protein
  • Matcha: 240 cal, 11g total fat (2g saturated), 50mg sodium, 23g total carbs (4g fiber, 6g sugar), 11g protein

Looking at the nutrition profile, they aren’t the greatest source of protein, they’re higher in sugar than I would prefer, but they at least offer some fiber. Just looking at the nutrition profile alone, however, they aren’t the first bar I would grab for.

But onto flavor. I admit I was a little apprehensive about these bars. I had read some reviews prior to trying these and people either seemed to really love them….or really hate them. The people that didn’t like them all mentioned the same thing – that the cricket flavor was too overwhelming. My review of each flavor will be below:

  • Aztec: This was the first flavor I tried and I was pleasantly surprised. The bar itself was nice and dense (which I attribute to the dates) and it was very filling  (thanks to the 7g fiber). As for the flavor, it had a really nice deep, dark chocolate which helped conceal any cricket flavor there may have been. I didn’t really pick up much on a coffee flavor but there was a nice kick of cayenne which also helped conceal any cricket flavor that may have been lurking. Overall, really satisfied with this bar and would definitely purchase in the future.
  • Chaco: Admittedly I was not as impressed with this flavor. I did pick up on the cricket flavor that so many people had mentioned in reviews. It wasn’t that it was a bad flavor, per se, it was more so that it was very….earthy tasting. If i’m being honest, though, I likely wouldn’t purchase this bar in the future.
  • Thai:  As soon as I opened the wrapper I immediately smelled the thai spices in this bar. However, they did not translate into the overall taste of the bar. Again, the earthy, cricket flavor was far too overpowering to pick up on any other flavors. Would not purchase this bar either.
  • Matcha: I was most excited for this flavor but, again, the earthy cricket flavor was far too overpowering. Would not purchase this flavor.

So sadly these bars were kind of a dud for me.The flavors mostly fell flat for me and the nutrition profile isn’t even that great for me to really endorse them. The aztec bar alone offers about 6tsp sugar which is the recommended daily intake for women. Definitely not worth it, in my opinion.

However, I was still intrigued by the cricket flour protein trend so I collaborated with another cricket protein bar brand and I will be posting that review shortly!

In case you do want to try the chapul bars for yourself, use code “chirpchirp” at checkout for 25% off any online order.

*Disclaimer: Although Chapul kindly offered to send me their product in exchange for a review, this in no way influenced my review. All opinions are my own.

Share your thoughts :)

