Product review: Macrobars

Although I have been eyeballing these bars for awhile, it wasn’t until just recently that I picked one up to try. And as luck would have it, the company contacted me not long after to send me a few more of their bars so I could do a review. I was actually really impressed that these bars were delivered at my doorstep within a matter of days. And the bars themselves really impressed me as did the company itself. First of all, the company is a family owned company believes in using wholesome ingredients, giving back to the community through donations, and utilizing sourced sustainability by supporting fair trade using organic ingredients produced with sustainable farming techniques. In addition, the bars are certified organic, certified gluten free, nongmo, and vegan and they come in some delicious flavors which I will discuss below.

But first, let me take a selfie:

gomacro

Aren’t they beautiful? Nutritionally, each bar contains about 200 calories, 4g total fat (0g sat), 0mg sodium, 3g fiber, 15g sugar, and 3g protein. They are a tad high in sugar (containing almost 4 tsp of sugar) and even though most of it is from sources like organic fruit, the first ingredient in most of the bars is organic brown rice syrup which means most of the sugar comes from that. Just to put this into perspective, the current sugar intake recommendations as stated by WHO is about 6 tsp for women and 9 tsp for men. So having said that, while I enjoyed these bars, they aren’t necessarily something I would eat on a regular basis due to the sugar content and not knowing just how much of the sugar content is from the brown rice syrup.

alright, flavors! I was sent 3 to review in addition to the 2 I picked up myself at a nearby whole foods.  The flavor combinations all sounded so incredible, I didn’t even know which to try first. Eventually I ended up opening a couple at a time and sampling them together so I didn’t have to pick just one at a time :p So here is a rundown of all 5 bars I had in my possession:

Sunny Uplift (cherries + berries): This flavor was pretty sweet due to the mix of berries. I really liked it but I also have a bit of a sweet tooth so if you’re not a fan of sweet, you may not like this bar.

Wholehearted heaven (almond butter + carob): This flavor combo was alright but not my favorite of the bunch.

Prolonged power (banana + almond butter): I was really excited for this flavor but it had a bit of an interesting aftertaste to it. I actually think it was the banana which I admit, I’m not always a fan of banana so I’m not sure if I would purchase this bar in the future.

Protein Purity (sunflower butter + chocolate): I really liked this flavor. This was the perfect combination of sweet and salty. Another winning combo in my book.

Balanced goodness (granola + coconut): I loooove coconut so I loved this flavor. It had visible chunks of walnuts, oats, coconut, almond butter, and raisins and all of the flavors worked really well together. I would definitely purchase this bar in the future.

 Overall verdict: I love what the company stands for and I love that these bars are gluten free and vegan. In addition, they are very tasty. I am not the biggest fan of the first ingredient being brown rice syrup but that doesn’t mean these bars can’t still fit into a healthy diet. As long as you are aware of what you are eating throughout the rest of the day, these can still fit in every once in awhile as a treat or snack.

 

2 thoughts on “Product review: Macrobars

Share your thoughts :)

