Product review: Sargento cheese and flat bread pizza

flatbread pizza

I was recently chosen to receive one of the last influenster boxes which included coupons for the new Sargento Ultra Thin cheese slices. I also picked up some flatbread wraps with the intention of using the cheese with the wraps as pictured above. So this review will include both products. So let’s start with the cheese.

Sargento Cheese: I chose the smoked provolone ultra thin cheese. It came with 20 slices of ultra thin sliced cheese. Nutritionally, 3 slices offer 120 calories, 5g saturated fat, 230 mg sodium (10% DV), 0g fiber, 0g sugar, 8g protein, and 25% DV calcium. The downside to the thinner slices of cheese is that I didn’t notice any smokey flavor. I still got a cheesy payoff in whatever I used these in but no smokey flavor. The upside, however, is that despite the thinner slices, I noticed I didn’t need to use extra slices to make up for lack of flavor; the thin slices still provided a nice provolone flavor so when I made something like a wrap, I found myself using only 1 slice of cheese.

Flatbread wraps: I bought these wraps at Aldi. I don’t remember the cost off hand but the package came with 6 wraps. They were the fit&active brand and I partly bought them for the sole purpose of making pizza. These wraps are made with flax and offer (per wrap) 100 calories, 2.5g fat (0 saturated), 200 mg sodium, 8g fiber, 1g sugar, 9g protein, and 8% DV iron. These wraps are made with a rather nice variety of grains and due to the high amount of fiber and decent amount of protein, these wraps helped keep me full for quite awhile. The 200mg of sodium puts these wraps just shy of being marketed as low sodium wraps and while they aren’t horribly high in sodium, once you add in cheese and whatever else, your sodium intake can easily increase so I do recommend paying attention to the sodium in the rest of the ingredients you use with these wraps.

Excess sodium intake is common in the U.S. and Americans, on average, consume more than double the current sodium recommendations set by the American Heart Association (current recommendation is 1500 mg sodium). Excess sodium intake can increase blood pressure as well as increase risk for conditions like stroke, heart failure, kidney disease, etc. so it is important to know what’s in your food so you can make educated choices when shopping. Try to choose products that are lower in sodium and try to limit your overall daily sodium intake to less than 2300 mg which is the current dietary recommendation, unless you have pre-existing conditions (such as hypertension, diabetes, or chronic kidney disease) or are over the age of 51. If you fall into the latter categories, it is recommended you limit your sodium intake to 1500 mg.

Ok, so back to my product review. I ended up using both products above to make flatbread pizza (recipe below):

– 1 flatbread wrap

– olive oil

– 4 slices sargento provolone cheese (or cheese of choice)

– 1/3 cup tomato sauce

– 1/4 cup tomatoes

optional extra toppings of choice

Directions

preheat oven to 400 degrees F and oil a cookie sheet. Brush your warp with a small amount of olive oil. Layer your tomato sauce, cheese, tomatoes, and any other toppings on top of your wrap. Bake for ~10 minutes or until your cheese has melted and your wrap starts to brown. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before serving.

 

* I received the sargento cheese compliments of influenster for testing purposes but the flatbread wraps were purchased by me. All opinions are my own.

Share your thoughts :)

