Nutrition Thursday – Product Review: Nakd bars

I’m not gonna lie. I was really geeked when Nakd sent me this box of goodies. I mean – just look at them. And these flavors! I could barely control myself when I opened the box and saw all these lovelies staring back up at me!

nakd product review

Nutritionally, these bars offer around 14g carbs, 12.9g sugar, 2.4g fat (0.5g saturated), and 1.4g fiber.Ingredients wise, well, take a look for yourself (image taken from http://www.naturalbalancefoods.com/about-us/new-to-nakd/):

I love how the ingredients list is not a paragraph long. Even more, I love how the ingredients are all things I am familiar with. Furthermore, these bars are

  • Dairy free
  • Wheat and gluten free
  • Vegan friendly
  • Low in saturated fats
  • Free from added sugar and syrups
  • GM Free
  • Kosher

They made a great snack when I was out and about:

banan crunch nakd

Below I have included the various flavors as well as my thoughts on each:

Fruit and Nut bars:

Rhubarb & Custard: This one was amongst my favorites. Somehow it tasted just like custard!

Caffe Mocha: This one was pretty good. Not my favorite but still pretty decent in the flavor department.

Cocoa Orange: I admit i was hesitant to try this one. I like chocolate and I like orange but I don’t usually care for them together. However, someone compared this one to a tootsie roll and they were right on the money. This tastes almost exactly like a tootsie roll so if you like those, you’ll like this flavor.

Cashew Cookie: This flavor was alright. It was basically just cashes and dates so, while it was good, I felt like it was kind of lacking in flavor.

Pecan Pie: This one was alright. I didn’t feel it was anything special. It kind of lacked…flavor, in my opinion.

Berry Delight: I also wasn’t crazy about this one. It was good. But I also felt it was lacking a bit in the flavor department.

Cocoa Mint: This one tasted, well, choclatey and minty. Kind of reminded me a thin mint cookie, actually. However, it did have a bit of an odd aftertaste. I would have liked it more if it hadn’t been for the odd aftertaste.

Ginger Bread: This one was really good! It had a nice spice to it and overall I really liked this one.

Cocoa Delight: I really wanted to like this one being the chocoholic that I am. But…I didn’t care for this one that much. It just tasted….bitter to me which is not appealing to me.

Crunch bars:

Apple Crunch: I really loved the crunch bars. The flavors of these bars seemed to be a bit more pronounced than in the fruit and nut bars. This one had a really nice apple flavor to it. I really liked this one.

Strawberry Crunch: I really enjoyed this flavor. It was sweet without being overwhelming and also had a nice crunch.

Banana Crunch: I really liked this flavor, also. It tasted, well, like banana. Very yummy and delicious. I would buy this one if I saw it at the store.

Cocoa Crunch: Ok, so this one I admit I didn’t care for as much as the other bars. It was just alright, nothing special, in my onion.

Overall verdict: It seemed to be a hit or a miss with these bars. I either really liked them….or didn’t. I loved most of the crunch bars (aside from the cocoa crunch). That line of bars seemed to have the most flavor payoff. I admit I didn’t like many of the fruit and nut bars. They were a nice snack to have when I was on the go but the flavor payoff was a bit…lacking. I will say, however, that the rhubard custard is my favorite flavor combination of just about any bar I have ever tried. I highly recommend at least trying that one if you can find it.

*Nakd was kind enough to send me these bars for free. The reviews of these products are my own based on my own experience.

Share your thoughts :)

