Nutrition Thursday – Product review: peanut butter and co. peanut butters

I think this is one of the product reviews I am most excited to do because it involves one of my more recent loves: PEANUT BUTTER!

Growing up, I hated peanut butter. I wouldn’t even go near it and I thought it was disgusting. Thankfully my taste buds have matured and have shown me the error in my ways. I am now a peanut butter/nut butter fanatic.

So I have known about peanut butter and co peanut butters for quite awhile. They come in some delicious sounding flavors like dark chocolate dreams, white chocolate wonderful, maple, cinnamon raisin, the heat is on (a spicy version), a honey peanut butter, and of course your good ol’ regular peanut butter. I requested to try the dark chocolate dreams, maple, and cinnamon raisin. As soon as I received them I of course had to try a spoonful of each. And then I went out and immediately bought the white chocolate wonderful peanut butter (which is tied with dark chocolate dreams as my favorite).

Nutritionally, these aren’t the “healthiest” options for peanut butter. They still contain a large amount of fat (like regular peanut butter) as well as some protein but they also contain extra sugar which is why they taste so darn good. Although a majority of the fat is healthy fat, it’s still high in calories so make sure you don’t go nuts and eat the whole jar in one sitting like I was tempted to do. It’s important to also keep in mind the sugar content when you’re eating these so you don’t overdo it. These peanut butters contain anywhere from 7g-9g sugar per 2 tbsp (which equals out to about 2 tsp of sugar per serving). The current recommendation for added sugar in the diet is, I believe, 7 tsp daily so just keep that in mind. I just make sure to adjust my sugar intake if I know I’ll be eating these throughout the day.

So, onto the flavors:

Dark chocolate dreams: I admit, I did not like this one at first lol I thought it was okay but nothing special. However, the more I use it and the more I experiment with it, the more I like it. It is now one of my favorite flavors. I like it best melted as I feel like that really brings out the chocolate flavor. Another thing to note is the texture. I do love the texture – very smooth and creamy.

White chocolate wonderful: I looooove this one. I actually ate through my jar of this faster than any of the other flavors. It basically tastes exactly as it sounds; like peanut butter with white chocolate notes. I found myself just eating spoonfuls of this one (oops). Also, part of why I love it is due to its incredibly smooth and creamy texture like the dark chocolate dreams.

Mighty maple: I admit this wasn’t my favorite. I guess I didn’t care for the maple flavor mixed with the peanut flavor. Not only that but the texture was different from the previous two flavors. This one was more gritty which was a little off putting.  I have to say I probably wouldn’t buy this one if I saw it in the store. It was still good and I still ate it. It just wasn’t always my first choice.

Cinnamon raisin swirl: This one also had a bit of a gritty texture which, again, was a bit off-putting. However, I really did like the flavor which helped me get past the texture. It was very sweet with a nice dose of cinnamon so a little went a long way which I did like because it meant I didn’t have to use as much. I would possibly buy this one again.

*Peanut butter and co was kind enough to send me dark chocolate dreams, mighty maple, and cinnamon raisin swirl for free. I purchased white chocolate wonderful with my own money. The reviews of these products are my own based on my own experience.

Question of the day:

Are you a peanut butter/nut butter lover?  Have you tried any other flavors? What’s your favorite brand and flavor?

4 thoughts on “Nutrition Thursday – Product review: peanut butter and co. peanut butters

    • the dark chocolate one is AMAZING! it pairs well with everything lol just beware if you but it because you will probably eat the whole jar in like 2 days…or maybe that’s just me *facepalm*

Share your thoughts :)

