3 DIY homemade caramels

I have been sitting on this post for weeks now and I decided it was about time I finally upload it. It occurred to me that I have made 3 different types of caramels this year alone. So I thought I would share.

Homemade caramel version #1: sweetened condensed milk in the crock pot

sweetened condensed milk caramel

The first caramel I made was featured here (click me). I have made it a few times now and both times I used it to make homemade chocolate bark. This was actually very simple. Simply get a can of sweetened condensed milk (do not open) and place it in a water bath for 4 hours. Make sure the water is completely covering the can. The downside to this method is that you have no idea when the caramel is ready so if you open the can too soon, you’re kind of stuck with it. This version is super sweet, super creamy, and super yummy.

Homemade caramel version #2: Sweet potato caramel/pumpkin coconut caramel

sweet potato caramel

(dairy free, gluten free)

If you follow my IG you may have already seen this. For this you’re going to need:

– 1 cup baked sweet potato (or pumpkin)

– 12 oz almond milk (or 1 can coconut milk)

– 1/2 – 3/4 cup brown sugar or date sugar

– 1/2 tsp vanilla

– pinch each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger

Basically combine all of the ingredients in your crock pot and let simmer for ~4 hours. Make sure you stir it every once in awhile to prevent it from burning on the bottom of your pot. Use to top oatmeal, waffles, or pancakes (my favorite). This is what I used to fill my baked sweet potato pancakes (recipe here).

Homemade caramel version #3: Date caramel

date caramel

(vegan, raw, natural, dairy free, gluten free)

This version is pretty simple and probably one of my more favorites as it’s a little more natural than the previous 2 versions. It only requires two ingredients: dates and a milk of choice. You’re going to need:

– 1/2 cup milk of choice (I used almond milk)

– 1 cup softened dates

To soften your dates, let them sit in a bowl of water overnight. Once soft, make sure to remove the pits then add the dates along with your milk to your food processor. Process your dates and milk until they are very smooth and creamy. I liked to use this version in baking as well as in oats.

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried any of these types of caramels before? Would you try any of them?

9 thoughts on “3 DIY homemade caramels

    • it was delicious. i would definitely recommend keeping it in the crock for the full 4 hours to ensure it comes out the way it’s supposed to. the last time i made it, i got excited and took it out too soon. not that it was bad – it just wasn’t as creamy as i would have liked.

  1. Pingback: Recipe of The Week Even Though Ya Know….who the hell eats waffle taco’s although I do see them in commercial ads now so whatever…here ya go…This is the Recipe of The Week this week and probably the only one I had/have ever posted t

  2. Pingback: Mini cinnamon rolls for one | f00dventures

  3. Pingback: Caramel apple ring pancakes with an apple rose | foodventures

  4. Pingback: Caramelized vanilla and maple spiced baked pears (using Jamie Eason whey protein) | foodventures

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin spice french toast sticks featuring Thin Slim Foods | foodventures

Share your thoughts :)

