Feature Friday: Guest post with poorcollegekideats

Welcome to my first ‘Feature Friday’ segment! I have met several amazing people on instagram and thought it would be fun to feature some of my favorite IG accounts. To kick off this new segment, I am starting with PoorCollegeKidEats!

She is an aspiring dietetics student and animal lover just trying to live as a healthy a life as possible. So I will let PoorCollegeKidEats take it from here:

Originally I created my account to help my roommates and I make healthier food choices. Living out on our own was tough enough, so I wanted to find a simple way to help myself, my roommates and my other friends eat healthier without spending so much money. Eating at school was not ideal because of the high prices and limited selection of healthy foods. Growing up, I always ate healthy meals that were cooked at home so it was something that I was already familiar with. I wanted to be able to share this with my friends as well. The very first night my roommates and I moved in, it was chaotic! We ended up having pizza that cost us $40! This was something that we could not afford on a daily basis so things would have to change. The next week we had a house meeting and decided that we would pitch in $20-$40 a week to put towards groceries. Every week I would plan out all of our dinner meals based on the items we had purchased.

groceries

Breakfast and lunch were different because we each ate different things. Since we were on a tight budget, we only purchased fruits and vegetables that were on sale and we took full advantage of coupons! Lucky for us there was always some type of sale going on. One of our favorites dishes was marinated salmon; we would marinate the salmon with olive oil, rosemary, lemon, pepper, and salt; bake and serve with a side sauteed vegetables and rice. Some of our food ideas included: homemade pizzas, kale salads, salmon, sautéed vegetables, tilapia tacos, quesadillas, marinated chicken, rice, potatoes, and home made hamburgers.

sandwich

dinner

As far as breakfast and lunch went, we all ate different things but we all shared the following: peanut butter, jelly, tortillas, bread, eggs, english muffins, cheese slices, lunchmeat, oatmeal, cereal, milk, yogurt, and juice. We also made sure to purchase items that were minimally processed. As far as the fruits and vegetables went, we purchased cheaper items such as bananas, strawberries, oranges, celery and spinach.

Grocery trips took a while because we would look at every single food label and review all the sale items. By doing all of this, we were able to save ourselves a whole lot of money because we carefully picked and chose our grocery items. I have since parted ways with my roommates and I also went back to being a vegetarian, but I still continue to shop the way I used to when we all lived together. Some of my other friends still continue to invite me to the grocery store with them to help them pick out healthy food items.

I want to be able to show other college students and anyone else that it is possible to eat healthy and clean while on a budget. The key to this is to make sure you plan! Plan, plan, plan! The reason I say this is because I have had days where I’ve forgotten to plan or prep a meal and I ended up spending a lot of money on food at school. By planning and prepping your meals you know exactly what you’re eating and you know that It isn’t costing you a lot of money. As I’m writing this, I can’t help but feel nostalgic. I think about  how blessed and thankful I am for the fun experiences I had with my former roommates. It was a wonderful learning experience that I am ever so thankful for. I hope to continue to spread my healthy lifestyle with family and friends for years to come.

PoorCollegeKidEats has also kindly agreed to share one of her healthy recipes:

Tilapia tacos with a mango salsa

tilapia tacos

Ingredients

– 1 large tilapia fillet
– 3 tablespoons plive oil
– 2 minced garlic cloves
– 1/4 cup of diced Cilantro
– 1/4 cup of diced Parsley
– 1/2 a Lemon
– pinch of Salt
– pinch of Pepper for the marinade
For the salsa:
– 1 large Mango
– 1/2 small Cucumber
– 1/4 cup of minced Cilantro
– ¼ cup of diced Red onion
– ½ a Lemon
– pinch of Salt
– pinch of pepper
* You will also need tortillas and any sides you may want with the tacos depending on how hungry you are.
 Directions
1) For the tilapia, I combined my olive oil, garlic, cilantro, and parsley into a small bowl. Mixed together and then added the tilapia fillet. Once the tilapia fillet was covered in the mixture I sprinkled salt, pepper and squeezed some lemon. Covered the bowl in aluminum foil and set in the fridge.
2) For salsa, cut up mango and cucumber to desired size. I placed them in anther small bowl and added the cilantro, red onion, salt, pepper and squeezed the lemon. Mix together.  After this, the tilapia fillet was then cooked on a pan on a medium heat. While the tilapia was cooking, I heated up three of my tortillas. When the tilapia was finished I cut it up in pieces and placed on the tortillas and topped with salsa.
-For any of the ingredients above you can choose to use substitutes such as lime instead of a lemon for the salsa. You can also choose to add more of one ingredient and less of another. That’s the beauty of cooking in the kitchen. You get to experiment and have fun.

 

A big ‘thank you’ goes out to PoorCollegeKidEats for agreeing to do a guest post. For more yummy recipes like this, be sure to follow her on instagram (IG name = PoorCollegeKidEats)!

 

Question of the day:

Would you like to see more Feature Friday/Guest posts on my blog?

2 thoughts on “Feature Friday: Guest post with poorcollegekideats

  1. Pingback: Baked Spinach Stuffed Tilapia | Recipes for a Healthy You

Share your thoughts :)

