Nutrition Thursday: Product review – Sunwarrior

sunwarrior

I have heard a ton of great things about this company so I just had to try them for myself. Sunwarrior makes several plant based products like protein powders and vitamin supplements   Their products are soy free, non-GMO, allergen free, raw, and vegan and also contain no artificial ingredients or preservatives

photo 1

Warrior Blend Natural: This was a great, unflavored base. I like to add my protein powders to my post workout smoothies and I don’t always want them to have a flavor from the protein so this was a great option to have. I have tried protein powders in the past that have claimed to be ‘unflavored’ but they stil have a weird after-taste to them. I didn’t get that from this one. So if you’re looking to increase the protein in your smoothies without an overpowering flavor, I highly recommend this one.

photo 3

Warrior Blend Chocolate: I absolutely adored this one. I used it in a regular post workout shake and it was super smooth and creamy and was reminiscent of chocolate ice cream. I was sad I only had a little sample packet of this because I loved it.

photo 2

Chocolate protein: I decided to try something different and use this packet to make protein pancakes. I simply used my old standby pancake recipe and just added the protein powder. The pancakes were delicious. The pancakes cooked up as they usually do but they had a delicious slight chocolate flavor to them which was nice because the flavor didn’t completely overpower the natural flavor of my pancakes.

Activated barley: This little superfood is a slow burning carb said to provide sustained energy as well as soluble fiber and active enzymes. I simply added this to one of my post workout smoothies. It didn’t significantly change the taste of my shake which was a plus.

Immune shield and Liquid light: These were two liquid supplements that, I’m sorry to say, I could not get down. They both contain fulvic acid which is supposed to “improve digestion, neutralize acidity in the body, and provide electrolytes”. Sounds perfect after an intense workout session. However, I did not care for the taste of them. I attempted to throw them back like shots but I just couldn’t get them down. Protip: Sunwarrior informed me that several people have successfully added these to their smoothies which helps take away the not so pleasant flavors of the supps.

Supergreens: This was a nice little packet of ‘supergreens’. It contained probiotic cultured greens, barley, wheat & oat grass, spinach, parsley, yucca, alfalfa, peppermint, and stevia. I was able to easily add this to my smoothie to make a ‘green smoothie’.

Overall verdict: Although I didn’t care for the liquid supplements (immune shield and liquid light), I was really impressed with the rest of the products I received.

* Sunwarrior was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

4 thoughts on “Nutrition Thursday: Product review – Sunwarrior

Share your thoughts :)

