Chai Green tea pancakes with vanilla chai filling

chai green tea pancakes1

It’s Sunday Funday so you know what that means? Ok, maybe you don’t. It’s time for a pancake post. And holy pancakes do I have a yummy recipe for you today. This is probably one of my favorite flavor combinations I have ever made for pancakes. If you like chai and spice, then you will love these pancakes. They are the perfect amount of spice paired with the perfect vanilla filling. They are simply delicious and I could eat these everyday.

chai green tea pancakes2

Chai green tea pancakes with vanilla chai filling: can be made vegan and dairy free by subbing dairy free milk, yogurt, and protein powder. Can attempt to make gluten free by subbing GF flour and oats (I have heard coconut flour yields a yummy, fluffy end product) – however, I have not used any other flour aside from whole wheat so I cannot vouch for the end product

Pancakes – makes 4-6 pancakes 

– 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

– 1/2 cup oats

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 cup water

– 1 green tea bag

– 1/4 cup milk of choice (I used almond milk)

– 1 tbsp vinegar

– 1 egg of choice

– 1 tsp each cinnamon and ginger

– 1 tsp sugar of choice

– 1 tbsp oil of choice

Filling

– 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

– sprinkle cinnamon

– 1 spoonful vanilla protein powder of choice (I used Garden of life)

– splash milk of choice

Directions

1) Steep your green tea bag in your water. Add your milk and vinegar to your green tea and water and set aside.

2) In a small bowl combine the rest of your ingredients then add your tea/water/milk/vinegar mixture. Mix well.

3) heat a skillet and add 1/3 cup of your batter to the skillet. cook your pancake a few minutes on each side. Repeat for the rest of your batter

4) while you pancakes cool, combine ingredients to make your filling. Layer your filling inbetween each pancake.

Question of the day:

Do you like chai? What about green tea?

9 thoughts on “Chai Green tea pancakes with vanilla chai filling

  1. Yum! This is actually really easy to make. I’m always a little intimidated by making my own pancakes because they all look so good and mine might turn out to be a hot mess! haha
    What does the vinegar do?

    • well the original recipe i was basing this off of uses buttermilk so i used almond milk + vinegar as a sub. plus the vinegar and the baking soda react together to produce a fluffier end product. they help give the pancakes that extra ‘lift’. pancakes definitely take practice to make. mine don’t always come out. it helps that i make fillings to go with them now to hide the not so pretty parts lol

  2. I love pancakes. But fattening.
    Do you have version of German apple pancakes?

    I love your thinking process; you are quite creative!!! I bet your fiancé can’t wait for your culinary weekend wonders.

    • Thank you! i do have a german-apple inspired pancake recipe in the works. i will be posting it in the near future!

      pancakes are one of my favorite foods. i only eat a few bites when i make them so 1) they last longer and 2) i don’t eat them all in one sitting lol

      as for my fiance, it’s a hit or miss with him. he either really likes my “creations” or he really doesn’t liek them at all. you win some you lose some :p

  3. I love pancakes. I could eat them often, but don’t.

    I really like your thought process and I think you are very very creative.

    I wonder what your take is on a German apple pancake. I go to this local restaurant and they serve it in the pan cooked in. It’s actually lightly baked/cooked on stovetop sliced apples, and pancake batter over top to make it crusty, and into oven.

  4. By the way, are you a scone eater?
    I thought they are kind of hard, and break into chunks when eaten.

    My husband brings home this store made version that he literally gorges (is that a word?), but they seem really mushy to me.

    • every once in awhile i’ll make scones but they aren’t my favorite thing to eat. i think i’ve really only made scones once before. as i recall they’re usually hard and as you said, break into chunks when eaten.

Share your thoughts :)

