Baked sweet potato pancakes

I love pancakes. Once I start eating them, I can eat them for weeks and not get tired of them. There are just so many flavor combinations. This sweet potato recipe has become one of my favorites as it makes thick, dense pancakes that will keep you satisfied all morning. or night. depends on when you choose to eat them 😉

sweet potato pancakes

Baked Sweet potato pancakes – (dairy free, vegan, can be made gluten free by using GF flour instead of whole wheat flour – I have experimented with almond meal and had great results.)

Ingredients

– 3/4-1 cup baked sweet potato

– 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp flax + 6 tbsp water) – or you can use regular eggs

– 1 1/2 cups water

– 3 tsp baking powder

– 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

— 3 tbsp oil of choice

– 1 tsp sugar of choice

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees and oil an 8×8 in pan. set aside.

2. Combine all ingredients and mix well. Transfer batter to your pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes. They will come out a little gooey at first but will continue to cook the longer they sit out. I have found they are best eaten the next day.

I have made these pancakes a few times now.

Version 1 – basic sweet potato pancakes (pictured above): I layered and topped the pancakes with sweet potato caramel and date caramel (both recipes to come soon),

Version 2 – sweet potato + blueberry (pictures below): I added about 1 cup blueberries and used 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup almond meal in the batter. Once cooked, I layered banana slices in-between.

blueberry sweet potato pancakes

Version 3 – Chunky monkey (pictured below): I added a couple tbsp baking cocoa to the batter as well as an extra sprinkle of sugar. Once cooked, I layered a peanut butter filling in-between (simply combine peanut butter with some greek yogurt until you get the consistency you desire) and then layered banana slices in-between.

chunky monkey

Question of the day:

What’s your favorite pancake flavor combination?

10 thoughts on “Baked sweet potato pancakes

  1. My favourite pancakes are lemon poppyseed, i think. 🙂

    Would these be gluten free by just using almond meal then? I didn’t see the gf option. Have you tried making them gf?

    • I mentioned in the original recipe that you can sub gluten free flour but I cannot vouch for using 100% GF flour. I have experimented with using up to half almond meal but I have not yet tried using 100% almond meal. I have heard people get excellent results with coconut flour.

      Oh and by the way, you were the winner of one of the GoPicnic meals. I emailed you! Please respond with your information so I can send out your prize 🙂

  2. I’m a sweet potato freak!!! as in, I typically roast at least 5 huge sweet potatoes for me, and have them for breakfast, snack, you name it. I like to drizzle them with organic maple syrup and chopped walnuts. I never thought to have them in pancakes, esp blueberries, too! oh oh, this may start a new thing for me, too! sounds wonderful and healthy!

  3. What an interesting idea… sweet potato pancakes. My mum and sister bothe love sweet potato [even the dog eats them] so I shall try this for our next breakfast together. Thanks.

  4. Hurrah! Thanks Kristen.

    And I’ll try the pancakes coconut-style, and let you know if they turn out. I’ve baked GF pancakes before, but they tend to get quite crispy. Though with coconut flour, the density might keep a more cake-like consistency.

    • It’s kirsten, actually (everybody gets it wrong lol). I’ve been wanting to try coconut flour myself for a long time so definitely let me know how they turn out with the coconut 🙂

  5. Pingback: 3 DIY homemade caramels | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

