Apple crumble (oat) pie

20140211-171841.jpg

In honor of National Pi day yesterday – I made a pie. This recipe is super simple to make and very flavorful. The end product is similar to a baked oatmeal. Sweet and delicious and clean enough that it can be eaten for breakfast πŸ˜‰

Apple oat crumble – can be made vegan (double check your brown sugars to make sure they are vegan). Can be made dairy free. Can be made gluten free by subbing GF oats and oat flour (try Bob’s Red Mill)

Ingredients

– 2 apples, sliced

– spoonful brown sugar

– cinnamon to taste

– 2/3 cup oat flour (make your own by processing oats in a blender)

– couple spoonful’s of water

– 1/3 cup oats

– 1/2 cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened almond milk)

Directions

1. preheat oven to 350 degrees and oil a round glass 8-9 inch dish. set aside.

2. combine your apple slices, cinnamon and brown sugar in a skillet and cook until caramelized and soft.

3. layer your apple slices in the bottom of your glass pan (make sure to save a few for the top of your crumble).

4. in a separate bowl, combine your oat flour and water but add your water very slowly. combine until you get a thin, pancake batter consistency. spread over the top of your apple slices.

5. sprinkle cinnamon on top and layer your oats on top of that.

6. pour your almond milk over the entire mixture than layer the rest of your apple slices on top. bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes

Question of the day:

What’s your favorite pie?

11 thoughts on “Apple crumble (oat) pie

  1. This sounds delish and I have almond milk and the oats and I will get a few nice organic apples to make this!!! Hmm I can’t say what is my favorite pie, I like homemade rhubarb pie in the spring, raspberry in the summer, pumpkin in the fall, and apple in the winter! only homemade with healthy ingredients, I use non-trans fat oil for my crusts.

    • i think my favorite has to be blueberry pie! i like how you have a different favorite flavor for each season. i’m also with you on making homemade pies. tastes so much better when it’s homemade and you have so much more control over what goes into it.

    • i was afraid the short baking time wouldn’t soften apples enough to my liking so i decided to try something a bit different and cook them ahead of time. worked pretty well. can always skip it if you’re short on time πŸ™‚

  2. I do enjoy any type of apple pie or crumb dessert. I never tried it with oat flour and I like to eat oats! I would definitely use almond milk too.

  3. It looks extradelicious! I bet it would work well with other fruits too like pears or peaches or apricots. My fave pie is blueberry lemon muerbeteig…so yumful! Thanks for the recipe…cheers!

Share your thoughts :)

