Mugcake Monday (recipes): Chocolate strawberry, zebra, psychedelic, raspberry-banana

To kick off my return with recipes, I have decided to start with a few of my mugcake recipes. After getting several requests for my mugcake recipes on instagram, I decided to upload a few of them together so they would be easier to find. They all follow the same base recipe for the most part. These have become a nightly tradition for Edward and myself.

The base recipe is pretty simple:

– 3 tbsp whole wheat flour

– 3 tbsp milk of choice (I typically use almond milk)

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1 tsp oil of choice

– 1 tsp sugar of choice

– 1 tsp vanilla

From here, you can simply make a vanilla mugcake by microwaving the ingredients for about a minute. I like to get a little creative with my mugcakes:

chocolate mug cake

Chocolate strawberry mugcake – can be made vegan, dairy free, and gluten free – if gluten free, simply replace the flour with a GF flour

For this recipe, simply add 1 tbsp baking cocoa to the base recipe. Once it’s done baking, scoop out a little of the middle and spoon some strawberries into the middle. This recipe is modeled after chocolatecoveredkatie’s raspberry filled lava cake.

zebra mug cake

Zebra cake – can be made vegan, dairy free, and gluten free – if gluten free, simply replace the flour with a GF flour

This was probably one of my favorites because it was just so fun to eat. To make this, you will need to make a vanilla base in one bowl and a chocolate base in another bowl (simply add 1 tbsp baking cocoa to make the chocolate base). Once your batters are ready, drop one spoonful of each batter into the center of an oiled, microwave safe dish. Microwave 1 minute 30 seconds. Let cool before removing from dish.

pschedelic mug cake

Psychedelic mugcake – can be made vegan, dairy free, and gluten free – if gluten free, simply replace the flour with a GF flour (bob’s red mill has a great line of GF flours)

This was the most requested recipe. The layers are made from blueberries, strawberries, and raspberries. I’m not gonna lie, this was a pain to make lol It required several difference dishes to get the psychedelic vibe.

To make: double the base recipe and set aside. For the ‘layers’, get out 3 small bowls. To one bowl add 1/8 cup blueberries, to another bowl add 1/8 cup strawberries, and to the last bowl add 1/8 cup raspberries. Microwave each bowl of fruit for about 30 seconds or until your fruit softens. Add a couple spoonfuls of your base batter to each bowl of fruit until your batter is used up. Mix well. Oil a ramekin and drop a spoonful of each fruit batter into your ramekin until all of the batters are used up. This is basically a version of the zebra cake but with 3 batters instead of 2. Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds. Let cool before removing from bowl.

20140211-163319.jpg

Raspbery Banana mug cake – can be made vegan, dairy free, and gluten free

  • 3 tablespoons flour of choice (I have used both oat flour and whole wheat flour with success)
  • 1/3rd banana mashed
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • handful of raspberries
  • 3 tablespoons almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Combine the dry ingredients and mix well. Add your banana and mash it right in the bowl with your dry ingredients. once mashed, add your wet ingredients and the raspberries last. Mix well. Oil a mug or even a plate and transfer your mixture to the oiled mug/plate. Microwave for about 45 seconds. The cake will appear a little gooey when you first take it out. Let it sit for a few minutes until it cools down a little then enjoy 🙂

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried mugcake?

12 thoughts on “Mugcake Monday (recipes): Chocolate strawberry, zebra, psychedelic, raspberry-banana

  1. I love these Mugcakes! They are fun to make and I would love to try the Psychedelic mugcake. My kids would love it. Great recipes.

  2. I’m curious if these work in a toaster oven, or ordinary gas oven. I prefer not to microwave my food. My research into it shows the radiation tends to kill a lot of nutrition. But I love the idea of mugcakes. I made mochi-cake in my saucepan once — dumped the dough in a small bowl, covered, and steamed. ^_^ But not sure it would bake up in the toaster oven.

    • Nutrient loss from microwaving is actually a bit of a myth. Research has shown that microwaving can actually help preserve more nutrients because cooking times are shorter. The most nutrient loss is more so from boiling in water because cooking times are longer and the water soluble nutrients are lost in the water (unless you incorporate that water back into your meal somehow). Microwaving can actually even enhance the nutrition of some foods. It makes the carotenoids in tomatoes and carrots more available to our bodies, it makes the biotin in eggs digestible, and heat kills bacteria in food that can make us sick.

      So, in summary, microwaving is actually one of the better methods or preparing food because it helps retain nutrients by cooking food quickly, exposing food to heat for the smallest amount of time, and uses a minimal amount of liquid when cooking.

  3. I love these! I have never heard of “mugcakes” before, but they look easy and fun (my favorite combination!). 😉

    I think I might have to try the Zebra Cake, it looks really yummy.

    I also appreciate that these recipes call for ingredients that I usually have already on-hand in my kitchen!

    • I first heard of mugcakes years ago but i was always really bad about following the recipe so they never turned out right lol the zebra cake was probably my favorite because it was so fun to eat!

  4. Pingback: National Registered Dietitian Nutritionist day and giveaways | f00dventures

  5. Pingback: Mugcake Monday: Chocolate edition- chocolate covered raspberry and chocolate with pb frosting | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

