CLOSED Product review and giveaway: Bob’s red mill

Welcome to the last day of my event. Today’s I have both a product review and a GIVEAWAY! Don’t forget to get your entries in for my other 3 giveaways (links below):

 Garden of life giveaway (2 winners)

Fiberlove giveaway (1 winner)

GoPicnic giveaway (2 winners)

bobs red mill

I am pretty sure almost everybody is familiar with Bob’s Red Mill (website here: http://www.bobsredmill.com/). They offer a wide range products such as flours (like chickpea flour and black bean flour), meals (like almond and hazelnut meal), cereals, oats, and gluten free products. I always peruse the bob’s red mill products when I am at the grocery store just to see what’s up. The company generously donated the 3 products pictured above so I could do a full review on them. They have also generously donated 1 gift set containing 3 Bob’s Red Mill products (giveaway at the end of this post).

Bob’s Red Mill sent me 3 products to try; 2 different types of quinoa and almond meal. My dad is a huge quinoa fan so he was pretty stoked when I received not one but two packages of quinoa. I was actually more excited for the almond meal as I have always wanted to try it but have never had the opportunity until now.

quinoa

I received red quinoa and tricolor quinoa. So first off, for those that aren’t familiar with quinoa, it is actually a seed. But it is not just any seed. It’s a ‘superseed’. Nutritionally it offers potassium, fiber, protein, iron, b-6, and magnesium. What’s pretty awesome about quinoa is that it contains all 9 of the essential amino acids making it a complete protein. It’s a great option for those who are gluten free, vegetarian, or vegan.

So what’s the difference between tricolor quinoa and red quinoa, you may ask? Not much. Nutritionally, they are very similar. In all honesty, from what I can tell, there’s not much difference between the two other than color.

One thing to note about quinoa is that prior to cooking it is important to give it a good rinse to remove the saponin which can give quinoa a bitter flavor. The quinoa from Bob’s Red Mill has already been pre-rinsed so you can skip that part and just cook it as usual which involves boiling it in water and simmering until all of the liquid has been absorbed. Quinoa is not only great on its own but it is very versatile so you can add it to several dishes like pilafs, soups, salads, or even baked goods. I have successfully added quinoa into chocolate chip cookies (recipe here: https://f00dventures.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/whole-wheat-chocolate-chip-cookies-made-with-a-few-surprise-healthy-ingredients/).

quinoa stew

I also made a quinoa stew last weekend (recipe can be found here- click me)

I really enjoyed both of the quinoa products I received as did my dad. They were easy to make and they were great quality. In addition they are both USDA organic which is always a plus in my book.

As for the almond meal, I really enjoyed it as well. Almond meal is actually what it sounds like; it is basically made from ground up almonds. There is a difference between almond meal and almond flour;  Almond Meal is ground almonds with the skin on, while Almond Flour is blanched almonds with the skin removed. Almond meal is great for gluten free baking. Being in the profession I am, I love seeking out new products so I can confidently recommend products to future clients/patients. I don’t believe in recommending anything without trying it myself first.

One thing to note is that, because it is made with nuts, it is a little higher in calories when compared to other flours. 1 cup of almond meal provides 656 calories whereas 1 cup of whole wheat flour provides 455 calories and 1 cup of white flour provides 578 calories.

Almond meal can be used on its own or it can be used to replace up to 25% of regular flour called for in recipes. I successfully used it in several different recipes like peanut butter cookies, chocolate chip cookies, and sweet potato pancakes. It added a great flavor and texture to the chocolate chip cookies! I would almost purchase it just for that alone.

Overall verdict: I really enjoyed everything I was provided. Bob’s Red Mill is a great company with high quality products.

* Bob’s Red Mill was generous enough to send me these products for free. I received these products for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

GIVEAWAY

Bob’s Red Mill has generously offered to provide one lucky subscriber with a gift set containing a bag of quinoa, almond meal, and hazelnut meal. Unfortunately this version of wordpress does not support the rafflecopter widget so please click the link below to be taken to the widget where you can put in your entries for the giveaway.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

44 thoughts on “CLOSED Product review and giveaway: Bob’s red mill

  1. I have used Bob’s Red Mill products! Oatmeal, quinoa, I’d love to try the hazelnut and almond flours, and I love quinoa! Very high quality, and they didn’t get bugs, either.

  2. I love this bread recipe – Homemade whole wheat honey oat bread!!! I have some oatmeal I wanted to use in bread but couldn’t find a recipe that I wanted to make. This one is super, I like the topping idea as a great breakfast or snack treat!

  3. I have tried some “Bob’s Red Mill” products before, and we’ve always been happy with them! We have tried the brand’s Quinoa, and Bulgar. : )

  4. We love Bob’s Red Mill products and have tried many of them. I love the steel cut oats for breakfast too. I do enjoy quinoa.

  5. Bob’s has been stellar ever since I was diagnosed with celiac disease. I love their whole grains especially! Quinoa has become a true staple for me. I make overnight quinoa with cinnamon, PB, and apples — oh, ’tis brilliant

  6. I have tried several products put out by Bob’s Red Mill, mostly those which are labeled gluten-free, and I’ve loved every one. One of my favorites is their gluten-free old fashioned flaked oats which I soak overnight in homemade almond milk, and add fresh fruit and nuts in the morning for breakfast. YUM!!!

  7. Pingback: Bob's Red Mill Gift Set - Greenmommy

  8. It seems everything I’m buying now is Bob’s Red Mill. I love his products. I haven’t tried these 3 products, but would so love to. Hazelnut meal? Please, send it on. Almond meal. Wow, has to be what I need. Quinoa. I’ve tried other brands, so I know this will be good.

  9. I have used The Bob’s Red Mill All purpose flour before but that’s it. But I’ve recently gone totally gluten-free so I will be using a lot of their products and would love to win this giveaway!! Thanks for a great giveaway!! 🙂 Following your blog!

  10. Awesome products! I have been enjoying them for years 🙂 Its wonderful to see them being sold in grocery stores as well as healthfood stores…. Hard to pick a favorite product for sure, but one can always depend on the quality of every product! Way to go! Keep up the great job.
    P.S. I love that you dont use GMO’s!!!!)

    • Thank you for your comment! I have always been a huge fan of Bob’s Red Mill because of their high quality products.

      I do my best to eat as healthy as possible. it wouldn’t feel right if i preached to clients or to others how to eat and then i was sitting at home stuffing my face with bad food. plus, i just feel better when i eat cleaner 🙂

  11. I actually have some of Bob’s products in the house right now. I have whole wheat, and quinoa, and I think the millet and almond meal are from Bob’s too (put them in airtight canisters without the packaging so can’t be positive). I use regularly – but am almost out.

  12. I use Bob’s Red Mill Almond Meal for clementine cake (which is typically the dry ingredient in recipes). It’s fantastic!

  13. Pingback: National Registered Dietitian Nutritionist day and giveaways | f00dventures

  14. I love bob’s flax seed! I always put a little in my yogurt or salads. It doesn’t add much flavor, but I loveeee the texture!

  15. I have actually tried Bob’s Red Mill previously… I’ve used it making food for my canine babies … the Steel cut oats and organic golden flax seed.

  16. Bob’s Red Mill is an amazing line of products. Just pure, wholesome foods that are perfect for using in my recipes. I always wish the bags were bigger, though!

  17. I have tried Bob’s Red Mill and I love their products! I’m especially fond of their Egg Replacer, Arrowroot Powder, Steel Cut Oats and Rye Flour. This is a great giveaway- thanks!

  18. I would really like to make your make ahead breakfast oatmeal bake. My kids love cereal for breakfast but most varieties are too sugary. They also like oatmeal but I’m usually too tired in the morning to start baking. This solves that problem beautifully! Thanks!

    • Happy to help lol the great thing with oatmeal is that it is so versatile so the sky is the limit when it comes to flavor combinations. i will be uploading many more oatmeal/breakfast recipes soon so stay tuned 🙂

  19. This chili is great for freezing in individual serving containers and then heating in the microwave
    for a nice hot lunch. This is confusing to many, but put simply, this person may be Non Celiac Gluten Intolerant (NCGI).
    If you can’t find one you should check the rest of the label to find out if the yogurt if gluten free or not.

Share your thoughts :)

