Product review: The Chia Co.

 

 

 

Welcome to the second to last day of my product review and giveaway event. If you’re new to the event, I have been reviewing products all week and currently have 3 giveaways – there will be 1 last product review and giveaway tomorrow so stay tuned. Links to all of my current giveaways are below and they all have options for daily entries so check them out:

 Garden of life giveaway (2 winners)

Fiberlove giveaway (1 winner)

GoPicnic giveaway (2 winners)

chia co

I could not control my excitement when The Chia Co. (website here: http://www.thechiaco.com.au/) sent me these products. Look at all of those chia seeds (insert googly eyes). I fell in love with chia seeds a few years ago when Edward brought them home from work. He’s a tease, however, because he hasn’t brought them home since 😦

The Chia Co. provided me with a gigantic sized bag of black chia seeds, a smaller bag of white chia seeds, and a pack of 10 chia shots which you can conveniently store in your purse and take with you on the go.

Chia seeds are one of my favorite ‘superfoods’ because they’re just so fun to eat. I like to pretend they are little mini boba (bubble tea, anyone?)

Chia seeds, per ounce (2 tbsp) provide 139 calories, 4g protein, 9g fat,  and 11g fiber. They most certainly pack a nutritional punch. Look at all of that fiber. From just 2 tbsp! They are also a great concentrated source of heart healthy omega-3’s, antioxidants, and calcium. However, it is important to note that the omega-3 fatty acid they contain is ALA which most people get enough of in the diet. While it can be used to make the essential fatty acids DHA and EPA, it can only do so partially so it is still necessary to eat sources of food that contain DHA and EPA like fish and nuts.

My favorite way to incorporate these into my foods is to make overnight oats/chia pudding, especially overnight oats in a near-empty pb or nut butter jar. To make, simply add 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup milk of choice (I love to use unsweetened almond milk), 1/2 tbsp chia seeds and any other extra flavorings to your pb jar. Give your jar a shake to ensure the ingredients are well combined then throw it in the fridge and let it sit overnight. Come morning, you will have a delicious breakfast waiting for you. My favorite combination is to add a little baking cocoa and a spoonful of decaf coffee grounds for a mocha flavor.

Here are a few of the other ways I love to incorporate chia seeds into my foods:

Strawberry banana smoothie : 1 ripe banana + handful frozen strawberries + almond milk. I used cacao nibs, goji berries, and chia seeds to make it ‘prettier’

strawberry banana chia smoothie

Post workout protein smoothie : basically a concoction of spinach, almond milk, chocolate protein powder, and avocado topped with chia, goji, flax, cacao nibs, oats, blueberries, raspberries, and dragon fruit!

protein bowl

overnight chia pudding : for this i just combined almond milk, chia, and oats and let sit overnight. in the morning i topped it with some yogurt, strawberries (not pictured), goji berries, and cacao nibs.

chia pudding

chia pudding2

You can get as creative as you want with chia by using them to make chia pudding or using them to make chia eggs (1 tbsp chia + 3 tbsp water) to replace eggs in baking/cooking or you can just keep it simple and add them to water or tea or just sprinkle them on top of your foods.

While chia seeds have been touted as the next superfood for weight loss and heart health, research is limited on the subject. Currently none of the research supports the claims that chia seeds significantly help with reductions in body weight, body fat, or improve cardiovascular markers. But that’s not to say that you should discount them. They still offer higher antioxidants than any other food (including blueberries).

Bottom line, chia seeds still offer other omega-3 benefits, antioxidants, protein, fiber, and flavor so they are still great to add to your diet.

* The Chia Co. was generous enough to send me these products  for free. I received these products for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried chia seeds? What’s your favorite way to use them?

6 thoughts on “Product review: The Chia Co.

  1. I adore chia seeds! My favorite way to use them is dun dun dun….A GLUTEN REPLACEMENT! chia seeds, finely ground give my gluten free life a happier tummy and a way to keep that moist stretchy quality in my baking adventures!

  2. I love chia seeds in overnight oatmeal! They absorb everything and get all gooey and add great texture. I love how you compared it to bobba tea actually. That’s genius! I think I’ll add that with blogilates Cassey Ho’s healthy bobba tea recipe and use chia seeds as the bobba!

  3. I have tried Chia seeds. My daughter showed me how to use them to make pudding. I do like to add them to oatmeal.

  4. I love chia seeds! I bought them not too long again for the first time and I put them in everything now – oatmeal, smoothies, yogurt!

Share your thoughts :)

