CLOSED Product review and giveaway: Garden of life

 Welcome to day 5 of this event! Today I have a product review and a GIVEAWAY for you! My other 2 giveaways are still open so be sure to also sign up for them and get in your daily entries for extra chances to win. I will link them below:

Fiberlove giveaway

GoPicnic giveaway

For today’s product review and giveaway, I have a ton of products from Garden of life. I was beyond ecstatic when I saw all of the goodies this company provided me with; 3 different protein powders, a superseeds fiber blend powder, and 2 boxes of whole food bars. My fiance got a little jealous when he saw all of the products I was given. He stated, and I quote, “I love this brand. They have high quality products”. So let’s start with the protein.

raw protein

Raw protein

I used this in place of my regular protein powder and I have to say I really liked it. I received a marley coffee flavor (vegan, gluten free, dairy free, soy free, USDA organic) and vanilla (raw, vegan, gluten free, dairy free, USDA organic) to try out. Personally I preferred the chocolate flavor. The vanilla had a bit of a strange aftertaste to it. But I will also say that it’s rare that I like a vanilla flavored protein.

raw protein smoothie bowl2

Nutritionally, these offer around 90 calories, 1-3g fiber (depending on flavor), 17g protein. Both also contained organic raw spourts blend and raw probiotic and enzyme blend. The marley coffee flavor also contained an organic whole trade energy blend.

They weren’t as high in protein as I would have liked so I found myself adding in extra protein from other sources to bump up the protein. But overall I enjoyed these products.

 raw protein smoothie bowl

Raw fit  (raw, vegan, gluten free, dairy free, soy free, USDA organic)

I loved this product. Technically it’s a high protein supplement for weight loss. I have no intention of losing weight so I added plenty of extras to my shakes to bump up the calorie content.

Nutritionally, this product offers 170 calories 1g total fat, 4g fiber (1g soluble, 3g insoluble), 28g protein, <1g sugar. Also contains a raw organic sprouted protein blend, raw weight loss and stress management blend, raw organic glucose management blend, and raw probiotic and enzyme blend.

I think this was one of my favorite products. I loved that it had 28g of protein as well as a nice dose of fiber and it tasted good!

super seed beyond fiber

Super seed

This is basicallly a vegetarian powder that can be mixed with any drink or food. 1 scoop provides 70 calories, 2.5g total fat (0.5g saturated), 6g fiber (1g soluble, 4g insoluble), 0g sugar, 6g protein, 66mg calcium (7% DV), and 2mg iron )11% DV).

It contains a ‘perfect fiber blend’ made of flax seed meal and whole chia seed, a ‘whole food fiber blend’ made of amaranth, quinoa, millet, and several other sprouts and seeds. In addition to the fiber blends, it also contains omega 3 fatty acids in the form of ALA (I discussed omega 3’s in this post – click me), organic cinnamon, stevia, and a proprietary probiotic blend. The cinnamon actually gives it a pleasant odor.

I typically add chia and flax to my smoothies and oatmeal so it was nice having this product on hand as it already contained both which meant less work for me. The cinnamon also added a nice little extra flavor so that was an unexpected plus. Overall, I enjoyed this product. It offered a lot of nutritional benefits so it’s definitely a product I could get on board with using on a daily basis.

superseed whole food bars

Super seed whole food fiber bars – Summer berry and Apple Cinnamon

These bars are all natural, vegetarian, dairy free, gmo-free, made with live probiotics, contain no refined sugars, and made with whole, raw ingredients (several of which are also certified organic). Despite the ingredients list being fairly long, all of the ingredients are foods I recognize so I can get on board with that.

Nutritionally, these bars provide 250 calories, 5g total fat (1g saturated), 2-4g fiber (dependent on flavor), 25-29g sugar (again, dependent on flavor), and 4-6g protein (dependent on flavor). Both bars also provide vitamin c (240-100% DV dependent on flavor) as well as some calcium and iron. These bars are a little higher in sugar than I would prefer (something my fiance noticed as well). So we typically shared a bar.

These bars are very dense, ‘heavy’, and really quite filling. The summer berry flavor is very sweet. My fiance didn’t particularly care for it but he also had no problem eating half of the bars I received so it must not have been that bad. The apple cinnamon was much better. It was also really sweet but it had a nice flavor.

Overall verdict: I enjoyed everything I was provided.

Giveaway

Garden of life has generously offered to provide goodies for not 1 but 2 winners! Each winner will receive 1 box of bars + 1 raw protein flavor of choice.

Unfortunately, the form of wordpress I use does not support the rafflecopter widget so please use the links below. There will be one giveaway for a box of the sweet berry bars + 1 raw protein flavor of choice and another giveaway for a box of the apple cinnamon bars + 1 raw protein flavor of choice. Please choose one giveaway to enter and follow the appropriate link.

sweet berry bars + 1 raw protein flavor of choice

a Rafflecopter giveaway

apple cinnamon bars + 1 raw protein flavor of choice

a Rafflecopter giveaway

39 thoughts on “CLOSED Product review and giveaway: Garden of life

  1. Yes, I’m enjoying Garden of Life Raw Protein Powder now!!! the chocolate! I’d love to try the Vanilla, for spring and summer smoothies!

  2. I love the recipe for sneaky (green) brownies! That is a must do! What better way to eat kale or spinach could there be?

  3. This is one of the most excellent companies out there for protein, and nutritional supplements. Their blend of active cultures makes the protein more bio-available and digestible, and their commitment to keeping things pure and simple has made me a fan. I got their protein as samples to recover body mass after my diagnosis as celiac, and it was the best. Before that, I was on Ensure, and briefly on another protein powder — but both were giving me unhappy symptoms. Not Garden of Life! I’d love to try Chocolate. I’ve only ever had Chai.

  4. OMG i’m so glad you liked the chocolate protein powder more AND the apple cinnamon because those are the ones I would love to try! I also see those raw natural fit protein powder things everywhere and have always been curious how they taste! Great post!!! 😀

  5. I have never tried or heard of this product. I am currently into foods and products with lots of protein since I am lifting and toning up so i would love to try the protein

  6. I have not tried Garden of life, but I have heard of them. I would enjoy trying any of the fiber bars for a great afternoon snack (Summer Berry)

  7. Pingback: Product review: The Chia Co. | f00dventures

  8. I love your recipe for the Sweet and tangy rhubarb smoothie!!! It won’t be long before there is fresh rhubarb from backyards!! And I love smoothies but haven’t been able to figure out a decent one with rhubarb. I can hardly wait to try this!

  9. I would love to try the vanilla protein (Vanilla isn’t usually a huge love of mine but I can add flavor to it)

  10. I have tried the vanilla and chocolate raw meal, and it’s my favorite organic protein! Thank you for the giveaway!

  11. I haven’t tried their products, but have wanted to for a while. I’d love to try one of their protein powders!

  12. Pingback: Product review and giveaway: Bob’s red mill | f00dventures

  13. I have never tried “Garden of Life” products, but I am most excited about their protein powders! I’d love to try their “Raw Original” or “Raw Vanilla Chia” flavors!

  14. I have never true garden of life but I’ve seen it & am very interested in trying it. If I win the samples that n I’ll know if it’s worth the money…a bit too expensive fir my normal budget, but if I know how it tastes, benefits me, & lasts then I can work it into the budget. :0)

  15. I’ve tried the Garden of Life Perfect Food Raw supergreens and loved it and would love to try the Raw Protein powder too in Yerba Mate!

  16. This cheesecake sounds amazing! And it looks so hard, but seeing how you do it, so easy! Raw triple berry cheesecake!! And knowing how healthy it is, no worries about everyone gobbling it up!

  17. Pingback: National Registered Dietitian Nutritionist day and giveaways | f00dventures

  18. I’ve never tried any of these products, but I’d love to! I love discovering new and healthy foods that I can incorporate in my daily routine because I usually just stick to the same things!

  19. Commented on recipe [https://f00dventures.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/baked-sweet-potato-pancakes/#comment-3159] and pinned [http://www.pinterest.com/pin/267190190366858313/].

  20. My Mum has tried the Garden of Life protein but I haven’t tried any of their products yet. I’d most like to try Chocolate Raw Protein.

  21. Pingback: New Giveaways! Round Two! | Vegan Perks

Share your thoughts :)

