CLOSED Product review and giveaway: GoPicnic

Welcome to day 3 of my event. Today is another GIVEAWAY! Stay tuned the rest of the week. I have 2 more giveaways to post 😉

photo 1

I came across these products at Target and GoPicnic (website here -> click me). GoPicnic kindly supplied me with a few sample products so I could do a review and GIVEAWAY.  Be sure to read through the post and complete the requirements at the end to be entered into the giveaway!

photo 3

The idea behind these meals is that you get 4 or 5 little snacks which, when combined, made up a nice little meal. Some of the meals are more nutrient dense than others. On their website they have what they call “gold star” options which are all-natural meals “designed with premium foods, including organic, fair trade and non-GMO verified ingredients”. Sadly, I did not get sent any of these to try but that’s not to say the one’s I received weren’t good.

photo 2

I was provided with a nice little sample 6-pack so I could try a nice variety of what their meals have to offer. I shared these with my fiancé and my dad so I could get more opinions on the flavors and the overall product.

photo 4(Turkey stick + crunch pictured above)

GLUTEN FREE Turkey stick + crunch (contains no artificial flavors or colors, and is gluten-free, peanut free, egg free, and tree nut free): This meal contained Barbecue Popchips, Old Wisconsin Turkey snack stick, Niagra Natural Simply fruit tropical bites, Sweet Perry Orchards Baja Blend fruit and nut mix, and Enjoy life double chocolate chunk cookie. Nutrition stats: The entire meal offered 330 calories, 12g fat (2.5 g saturated), 400 mg sodium (not terrible for an entire meal), 4g fiber, 27g sugar, and 9g protein. Also notable is that the meal is high in vitamin C offering 50% of the daily value. Overall verdict: We all really enjoyed everything in this meal. We all had our favorites though; Edward: turkey snack stick, Dad: fruit and nut mix, Me: barbecue popchips

GLUTEN FREE/VEGAN/ALL NATURAL Black bean dip & plantain chips: This was one of my favorites. The meal contained black bean dip, plantain chips, ginger zip fruit and nut mix, dark chocolate and tangerine bites, and an edamama/peptia/watermelon seed blend. Nutrition stats: entire meal offered 370 calories, 16g fat (5g saturated), 450 mg sodium, 8g fiber, 20g sugar, and 13g protein. Also notable is it provides 20% of your daily value for iron. Nutritionally, I thought it was decent and would buy it again based on that alone. Overall verdict: I would buy this and split with my fiance. I admit I did not care for the ginger zip fruit and nut mix nor did my fiance. I also did not care for the chocolate and tangerine bites but my fiance liked them. Despite not liking those two snacks, I loved the rest of the snacks. The black bean dip had a nice zesty tang to it and paired nicely with the plantain chips. I also really loved the edamama/pepita/watermelon seed blend which was tasty both on its own and paired with my morning oats.

GLUTEN FREE Turkey pepperoni & cheese: This meal contained turkey pepperoni slices, asiago cheese spread, multi-seed crackers, baja blend fruit and nut mix, and zeppelin sea salt caramel lollipop. Nutrition stats: The entire meal provided 330 calories, 16g fat (4.5g saturated), 860mg sodium (quite high due to the turkey pepperoni), 2g fiber, 20g sugar, and 14g protein. Nutritionally, this meal is not the healthiest option given the high amounts of sodium and low amounts of fiber. Overall verdict: I really liked the asiago cheese spread. Edward and I both also enjoyed the pepperoni as it had a nice spicy kick to it. I wouldn’t purchase this meal though as it offers little nutritional value.

GLUTEN FREE/VEGETARIAN/KOSHER/ALL NATURAL Hummus & crackers: This meal contained hummus dip, multi-seed crackers, baja blend sweet + spicy fruit and nut mix, chocomallocrispie chocolatey rice crisp bar, and edamama/pepita/watermelon seed blend. Nutrition stats: The entire meal offered 380 calories, 18g fat (2.5g saturated), 320 mg sodium, 6g fiber, 15g sugar, and 19g protein. Nutritonally, I was pretty impressed with this one. Lower in sodium, higher in fiber, high in protein. Overall verdict: My dad liked the chips and the hummus. We all enjoyed the baja blend fruit and nut mix. Edward enjoyed the rice crisp bar. I really enjoyed the edamame/pepita/watermelon seeds. So basically there was a little something for all of us in this one.

GLUTEN FREE/ALL NATURAL Tuna & crackers: This meal contained lemon pepper tuna spread, multi-grain crackers, unsweetened applesauce, ginger zip fruit and nut mix, and zeppelin seal salt caramel lollipop. Nutrition stats: The entire meal offered 320 calories, 12g fat (2.5g saturated), 520mg sodium, 4g fiber, 27g sugar, and 8g protein. Also notable is the meal offered 30% of your daily value for vitamin c. Overall verdict: I’m sorry to say nobody enjoyed the tuna.  Edward once again favored the caramel lollipop. Honestly, there wasn’t much about this meal that I liked so I wouldn’t buy it for myself.

GLUTEN FREE/ALL NATURAL/ VEGAN/KOSHER Sunbutter & crackers (also free of 7 common allergens, including wheat, dairy, fish, shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, and egg): This one was my absolute favorite. The meal contained multi-grain crackers, sunflower seed spread (my new love), a tropical fruit peel-a-part, mountain mambo seed and fruit trail mix, and chocolate chip cookies. Nutrition stats: The entire meal provided 490 calories, 26g fat (4.5g saturated), 319mg sodium, 9g fiber, 29g sugar, and 12g protein. Also notable is the meal provides 35% of your daily value for iron. Nutritionally, it’s higher in calories because of the sunflower seed butter but it’s also higher in fiber and a tad lower in sodium than most of the other options. Overall verdict: Edward and I both really enjoyed the fruit peel and Edward really enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies (are you seeing a pattern here? Edward seems to like all of the desserts lol). I really enjoyed the seed and fruit mix and used it to top my morning oatmeal. And Edward and I both really enjoyed the sunflower seed spread which has become my new love. I would definitely buy this one.

Overall verdict: I really enjoyed some of these. And some not so much. One thing that was brought to my attention was the fact that there are not any ‘nut free’ options. There are gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, all natural, and kosher options but none that are ‘nut free’.

GIVEAWAY

20140212-121744.jpg

As mentioned, I have been provided with 2 GoPicnic ready-to-eat meals to giveaway. I have decided to split the prizes up so there will be two winners. Choose which one you would like to win most and put in your entries for the appropriate drawing below.

*U.S. residents only* *Must be a subscriber of my blog*

Unfortunately the version of wordpress I use cannot support the rafflecopter widget so please click the appropriate link below. You will be taken to the rafflecopter widget where you can get in your entries. There are several ways to enter this giveaway. The only mandatory one is that you are a subscriber of my blog. So pick and choose whichever you want to complete. The more you complete, however, the better your chances of winning.

Turkey stick + crunch
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hummus + crackers
a Rafflecopter giveaway

*GoPicnic was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

26 thoughts on “CLOSED Product review and giveaway: GoPicnic

  1. Pingback: Gopicnic ready to eat meals giveaway - Greenmommy

  2. Pingback: Product review: Raw Revolution | f00dventures

  3. I’ve never heard of the brand, but I’m intrigued by the portability and available flavors. They sound yummy (and good for you).

  4. Pingback: Product review and giveaway: Garden of life | f00dventures

  5. I met the GoPicnickers at the Gluten Free Allergen Free Expo in SF end of January! I badly wanted to try one of their nut butter or turkey GF lunch packs, but didn’t get to while there.

  6. Pingback: Product review: The Chia Co. | f00dventures

  7. Pingback: Product review and giveaway: Bob’s red mill | f00dventures

  8. I have never heard of the brand, “Go Picnic”, but I like the premise of their brand; & would love to try their products! : )

  9. GoPicnic products are terrific. My daughter loved the vegan varieties and enjoyed them very much! I do see them offered in Target.

  10. As I’ve said…I think — I ran into GoPicnic at GFAF Expo. I wanted so badly to try their gluten free meals. It brought back stays in the States, and the Lunchable trips to the market. I wish you also got to give away the almond or peanut butter meals. 🙂

  11. Pingback: National Registered Dietitian Nutritionist day and giveaways | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

