Product review: Navitas naturals – goji berries, dragon fruit, cacao nibs

Welcome to day 1 of round 2 of my product review and giveaway event. I will be reviewing products from Navitas Naturals today. Stay tuned for a product review and GIVEAWAY tomorrow.

navitas naturals2

Being in the field I am, I come across a lot of ‘unique’ foods. I have known about cacao nibs and goji berries for quite some time but I have never had the pleasure of trying them as they are a little pricey. So I was really excited when a company called Navitas naturals (website here: http://navitasnaturals.com/)  offered to send me the products above in exchange for a product review. The company also has a bunch of other interesting products like chia seeds, acai powder, camu powder, maca, etc.

I was sent Goji berries, Cacao nibs, and dragon fruit to try out; all of which are raw, vegan, and USDA organic. The Dragon fruit and goji berries are also non-GMO certified.

Nutritionally, each product offers its own benefits:

                Goji berries: 

1 oz offers 100 calories, 0g fat, 3g fiber, 312mg potassium, 75mg sodium, 13g sugar, and 4g protein. They also provide 20% DV vitamin C and 140% DV vitamin A so they offer some great antioxidant properties.

                Dragon fruit:

1 oz offers 110 calories, 1g total fat, 54mg magnesium, 3g fiber, 15g sugar, and 2g   protein. They also provide 10% DV iron. They are known for their omega 3’s, protein, fiber, andiron content.

                Cacao nibs:

1 oz offers 130 calories, 12g total fat (7g saturated), 9g fiber, 0g sugar, and 4g protein. They also contain flavanols, polyphenols,and magnseium.

navitas naturals1

One thing I thought was nice was that each came with its own ‘suggested uses’ right on the bag:

                Goji berries: smoothies, tea, granola, oatmeal,  yogurt, salad

                Dragon fruit: trail mix, salad, desserts

                Cacao nibs: cereal,  yogurt, oatmeal, ice cream, cookies, smoothies, shakes, coffee

Flavor-wise, these also offer their own unique flavors:

                Goji berries:

I was warned ahead of time that these have a unique flavor so I really wasn’t sure what to expect. I actually really liked them. They remind me of….raisins? It’s hard to put my finger on what they remind me of but I did like them. They were chewy and sweet and, in my opinion, they would make good additions to granola, trail mix, or yogurt/smoothies.

                Dragon fruit:

I wasn’t expecting this particular product so I had no idea what to expect. I wasn’t really familiar with dragon fruit prior to this encounter. However, this was my favorite of everything I received. These were dried and disc shaped and reminded me of fruit leather. It was sweet and crunchy  and the flavor has been compared to a cross between a kiwi and a pear. Whatever it is, I liked it and I may or may not have eaten half of the bag immediately after opening them.

                Cacao nibs:

I was most excited to try this one. I follow a lot of health/nutrition gurus on instagram and just about all of them use cacao nibs in their oatmeal or smoothies or what have you. Unfortunately, my excitement was short lived. I took one whiff and nearly gagged. I then tried a small handful which was an even bigger mistake. Cacao nibs are basically pure cacao. They have no added sugar like the regular chocolate I am accustomed to. Having said that, they are very bitter in comparison. However, they have some great nutritional properties so I turned to my instagram family for suggestions and boy did they deliver. I ended up incorporating cacao nibs into oatmeal (as seen in the chocolate chip/cacao nib banana bread protein overnight oatmeal recipe I posted not long ago – found here). See first picture below. I also incorporated the cacao nibs, as well as the other superfoods I received, into a post workout shake (second picture below). So overall the cacao nibs are fine when added into foods. They are not pleasant on their own.

chocolate chip banana bread overnight oats superfoods protein bowl

Overall, I enjoyed everything I was sent. The goji berries made excellent additions to my morning oats as well as to my post workout protein smoothies. The dragon fruit made a great anytime snack that I pretty much devoured in one day. The cacao nibs I ended up liking once I figured out what to do with them.

* Navitas Naturals was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

Question of the day:

Have you ever heard of or used these ‘superfoods’? If you have used them, what’s your favorite way to incorporate them into your foods?

5 thoughts on “Product review: Navitas naturals – goji berries, dragon fruit, cacao nibs

  1. I’ve never heard of Navitas Naturals. I want to check this out, because i have been googling to no end for a place for this kind of product, that I want to use. I have cacao nibs, but haven’t used them yet, not sure what to do with them. I’ve never seen dragon fruit dried before, and am curious to try it!

    • Iherb.com is a pretty good site also for finding cacao nibs, dragon fruit, and other new fun foods to try! i recently discovered them and they are my new favorite website to order from.

Share your thoughts :)

