National Nutrition Month® – Enjoy the taste of eating right + a quinoa stew recipe

March has been coined National Nutrition Month® and I have celebrated it ever since coming into the field of nutrition and dietetics. I think there’s a big misconception today that eating healthy is restrictive, flavorless, boring, and just not enjoyable. Eating healthy doesn’t have to be any of those things. It may take a little more creativity in the kitchen but that’s what I love about it. Once you start experimenting more and figuring out what flavors work well together, cooking/baking can be really fun. It can even become addictive as you try to come up with exciting, new flavor combinations. Spices and herbs will most definitely become your best friends. Not only do they pack a great flavor punch but they also offer extra nutritional benefits (see my post discussing herbs and spices here -> click me).

Food and nutrition are my passions. Most people who know me know that by now. Through my blog as well as instagram, I love showing that eating healthy can be fun and enjoyable and delicious. You don’t have to deprive yourself. I don’t see food as just fuel – it is meant to be enjoyed and savored. If you want pizza, for example, make a whole grain pizza crust and load up the veggies. Fancy a hamburger? Try making a spicy black bean burger. Craving cheesecake? Make a fruity version like my raw triple layer cheesecake (recipe here). For some more information and more tips, be sure to check out the eatright.org website and check out this press release (click me) discussing ways to add healthy foods into your daily diet.

So to wrap up this post, I am including a delicious, healthy recipe for you to try: Quinoa Bean stew

quinoa stew

Quinoa Bean stew

(vegan, dairy free, gluten free)

Ingredients

– 1 cup quinoa (I recommend Bob’s Red Mill)

– 2 cups water

– 1 1/2 – 2 cups vegetable broth

– 1 can low sodium black beans

– 1 can low sodium garbanzo beans

– 1 1/2 cups diced tomatoes (or 1 can tomatoes- I used a fire roasted variety for extra flavor)

– 1 cup mixed veggies (I used a mix of broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, and carrots)

– rosemary to taste

– chili powder to taste

Directions

1) in a large pot cook your quinoa in 2 cups water until fluffy (about 12 minutes).

2. Once cooked, add in the rest of your ingredients. let simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes until  your stew starts to thicken. Serve and enjoy 🙂

Question of the day:

How will you be celebrating National Nutrition Month?

11 thoughts on “National Nutrition Month® – Enjoy the taste of eating right + a quinoa stew recipe

  1. Pingback: Product review and giveaway: Bob’s red mill | f00dventures

  2. This sounds delicious! I haven’t tried quinoa yet but am looking forward to it and your stew is at the top of my list!

  3. I’ve never had a “quinoa stew” (in fact, I’m not sure the difference between a stew and a soup, so maybe I’ve never had a stew either!). It looks easy enough, so I may have to try it. My husband and I love our quinoa chili recipe, and this seems similar, so I’m sure we would like the taste! : )

    • several of my friends have made this and they have all raved about it. it’s to date one of my favorite dishes ive made. i actually like it even better than the sweet potato chili i used to make (and i made that for about 5 months straight). definitely worth a try 🙂

  4. Pingback: Dinner recipes! | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

