Sneaky (green) brownies

green brownies

So basically what brought this about was this recipe here -> click me

I saw the recipe for these a few weeks ago. Originally I kept going back and forth on whether I should make them. But then I ended up with some extra diced spinach after cooking one night and was wondering what to do with it and that’s when brownies came to mind. I have seen recipes in the past where people sneak various greens into desserts and thought I would try it. After successfully making one batch with spinach and getting rave reviews from my fiance and my dad, I decided to take it a step further and make a few more changes (adding in avocado in place of some of the oil and dates in place of regular sugar as well as using a combination of greens like both spinach and kale). I also alternated between using oat flour and whole wheat flour and both versions came out great. So this recipe has been a couple weeks in the making. I have made these brownies at least 4 times now and I have enjoyed every minute of it 😉

They have come out decadent and rich and full of flavor every time. My fiance unfortunately figured out these were “healthy” brownies when he saw me making them and wouldn’t go near them after the first batch but my dad and I gobbled them up in no time.

(vegan, can be made dairy free and gluten free if using GF oat flour like Bob’s Red Mill)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup avocado
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract (15g)
  • 1 cup oat flour or whole wheat flour (make your own oat flour by processing your oats in your food processor)
  • 1 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup date sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 1-2 cups spinach + kale

PROTIP: to make date sugar, soak your dates overnight then remove the pits and process them in your food processor for a few minutes.

PROTIP2: The type of flour you use will alter the texture of your end product. The oat flour will give a flatter end product and the whole wheat flour will give a thicker, more dense end product.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 330F and grease a 9×13 pan. Set aside.

2. Add your spinach/kale mixture to your food processor and process until they are finely chopped. Combine your spinach with your avocado, date sugar, olive oil, vanilla, and milk.

3. Next add in your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, flax seed).

4. Pour into your baking pan and bake for ~25-30 minutes. After the 20 minute mark, increase your temp to 350 degrees.

5. Your ‘brownies’ will come out looking very raw. that is okay. they will firm up overnight and the flavors will further develop as well. restrain yourself and put them in the fridge for 24 hours before eating.

green brownies2

Question of the day:

What is your favorite dessert? Are you a chocolate lover (like me)? Or maybe a pie person?

5 thoughts on “Sneaky (green) brownies

  1. Pingback: Healthy breakfast ideas | f00dventures

  2. I love that these can be made gluten free. ^_^ Although as a celiac, oats — even certified — don’t always agree with me.

    My little brother would do the same as your fiancé — if he caught a hint that they’d got spinach, not a one would get near him. But he’d gobble ’em if he never knew.

Share your thoughts :)

