Meatless Monday: Vegan Lentil & Bean Salad

lentils

This dish combines fresh, raw ingredients like mixed bell peppers, tomatoes, sweet potatoes, spinach, broccoli, and red onion along with some protein (black, garbanzo beans, lentils), and grains (barley) to give you a nice, well rounded (and tasty) meal. So now that I’ve pretty much given you all of the ingredients, ill just leave you with this picture:

vegan lentil salad

Basically I prepared everything separately then arranged it in a pretty pattern.

Ingredients:

– 1/2 can organic black beans

– 1/2 can organic garbanzo beans

– 1/2 tomato, sliced

– handful of spinach, diced

– 1 cup cooked barley

– 2 cups cooked lentils (I used green and red but feel free to use what you want)

– 1 cup sweet potato, cooked

– 1/2 red onion, diced and sauteed

– 3/4 cup mixed bell peppers, diced and sauteed

– 1/2 cup broccoli

Directions

1) Basically, prepare everything in the order that you wish. I cooked the lentils and barley (in two separate pots) at the same time since they took about the same amount of time to prepare. While those were cooking I also prepared sauteed my onion and bell peppers. Once the barley was finished cooking I combined the bell peppers and onions with the barley and set them aside.  I then combined the sweet potato with the lentils and set those aside. Then I prepared my other ingredients and had them ready so I could arrange them.

2) Arrange your ingredients in a large dish. I started with lining the dish with the lentil and sweet potato mixture. The next layer was the barley, peppers, and onion. The inner layer was mixed black beans and garbanzo beans. I arranged the tomatoes and the broccoli on top then sprinkled some diced spinach on top. If you don’t have time for all of that, you can always just combine everything in one big pot and call it a day. It’s all going to the same place anyway 😉

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried lentils? If yes, what is your favorite lentil based dish?

5 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Vegan Lentil & Bean Salad

  1. Indian Dal is my favorite lentil dish. Turmeric, cinnamon, hot pepper, with saute’ed onion, carrots, and bell peppers and tomatoes. Although every region does it a bit different! I eat lentils constantly though. They make lovely soups, great to dump over rice — and the red lentils turn into the creamiest soup once cooked.

    How does the sweet potato flavour go with the rest of it? Somehow sweet potato sounds weird to my palate!

    • ooh yum indian dal sounds yummy! i just made my quinoa stew yesterday but replaced the quinoa with red lentils and you’re right – made a very creamy end product.

      the sweet potato went well with the rest of it! i used it more as a filler and i didn’t think the flavor was too overwhelming that it took away from the rest of the dish. my dad certainly gobblied it up so it must not have been too weird 😉

  2. I love lentils, one of the reasons besides how they taste is they cook up fast. I like making soup, of course, but I like to have them with olive oil and salt, yum. This dish looks super and never thought of putting that combo together, but I also love barley, and beans, too! This is a must do!

Share your thoughts :)

