CLOSED Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 5 – Teeccino coffee and superseed cereal

Welcome to day 5 and the last day of my extravaganza! I’ve saved the best giveaway for last!

I came across the teeccino company by chance but was impressed with what I saw. Teeccino generously sent me all of these samples for review purposes and they also happily offered to supply some products for a giveaway (end of this post).

Teechia cereal

teeccino

What originally caught my eye was the teechia superfood cereal. There are currently two flavors; Blueberry Date and Cranberry Apple. The cereals are  gluten free, tree nut free, made with no added sugar, and contain mostly organic ingredients. They contain several antioxidants from various sources (chia, ramon, quinoa, blueberries, and dates) as well as superfoods like omega-3 fatty acids (in the form of ALA).  PROTIP: Although  ALA is an essential fatty acid, EPA and DHA have better established (and more potent) health benefits.  However, EPA and DHA are found in sources like fish and fish oil whereas ALA is found in a wider variety of foods like canola oil, flaxseed, soybean oil, as well as red meat and dairy products. ALA is a precursor to EPA and DHA and it is partially converted into EPA and DHA in the body. Studies have shown EPA and DHA can help reduce triglyceride levels and blood pressure and studies have also shown that omega’ -3’s may help with other conditions like rheumatoid arthritis, depression, and inflammation in the body.

A serving (1/3 cup) of the teechia cereal contains 6g fiber, 6g protein, and 26g whole grains per 1/3rd. One thing I really liked was the recipe card that was provided with each cereal. These cereals can be eaten as is or you can use them as a base to make superfood energy bites, which is precisely what I did.

teechia super seeds cereal energy bites 1

teechia super seeds cereal energy bites2

I am in LOVE with these energy bites. I simply added the sample packet, 10 dates, and a handful of almonds for each flavor. The cranberry apple had a nice apple and spice flavor and the blueberry date had a delicious blueberry flavor – the blueberry was my favorite! It was basically happiness in bite sized form.

 Teechia coffee

teeccino herbal coffee2

teecino herbal coffee

So first off, these coffees are caffeine free. I was ecstatic when  I saw that because look at those flavors! I am very sensitive to caffeine so I only drink it once every few weeks. I consider it a treat as opposed to an everyday food. So I was really happy when I saw that I could drink these whenever I wanted. These are herbal coffees so they offer all of the delicious flavor without the acidity and caffeine in regular coffee. They are made with herbs that have been roasted and ground to brew and taste like coffee.

What’s unique about the teeccino coffee is that it is said to help re-energize despite the lack of caffeine. This may be due to the potassium which helps nerves and muscles communicate as well as move nutrients into cells. The potassium in these coffees comes from all natural sources. In addition, since this is a liquid, the nutrients are more bioavailable and absorbed more quickly in the body. The other reason for the “energy lift” may be due to pinitol which is found in carob pods. It has been said that pinitol acts like insulin in the body thereby making cells more receptive to glycogen, the energy component in blood. Regardless of the reason for the energy lift, I thought these coffees were a nice, comforting pick-me-up at the end of the day.

 I wasted no time tearing into these bad boys. All of the flavors sounded so delicious, I wasn’t sure which to start with.

herbal coffee

So I admit I had an unorthodox way of making the hazelnut and mocha flavors. These two samples were supposed to be made using a coffee maker. Well, I’m not a coffee drinker and we only have a coffee maker for when my parent’s come to visit. So, basically I have no idea how to use the coffee maker. Inspiration struck, however, and I concocted my own mini filter. I spooned some of the grounds into a coffee filter then closed it up with a twist tie then steeped it in my water like a tea bag. Worked wonderfully. The cool thing about doing it this way is that the samples will last me a lot longer. Both the hazelnut and mocha samples make 6 cups of coffee and since I only enjoy 1 cup at a time, they will last me quite awhile which is a-okay with me.

Hazelnut: Nice, nutty flavor. Enjoyable.

Mocha: Loved this one. This had to be one of my favorites. The mocha was delicious and I will be savoring every cup of this one.

teeccino herbal coffee

Dandelion dark roast: This was an unsweetened, run of the mill coffee. I was worried about this one and almost didn’t try it because I don’t generally like the flavor of coffee. However, I really enjoyed this one.

Dandelion Caramel nut: This one was delicious! I loved the nutty undertones mixed with the mild flavor of coffee. Yum!

Chocolate: This one was so yummy! Velvety smooth with a nice hint of chocolate flavor. I really enjoyed this one.

Vanilla nut: This had to be one of my favorites. It had a nice vanilla flavor with a subtle almond undertone. I adored this one.

One thing I will note about all of the coffee samples is that they don’t exactly taste like fresh brewed coffee. They’re a little light on the coffee flavor and not as creamy as real coffee but I felt they were a good substitute for someone looking to kick their coffee habit.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed everything I received from this company!

Giveaway

Teeccino has been kind enough to supply an amazing VIP sampler to 10 subscribers so be sure to sign up!

*U.S. residents only * *Must be a subscriber to my blog*

To enter:

1) If you haven’t done so already, please ‘Subscribe’ to my blog

2) ‘follow me’ on instagram (IG name = f00dventures)

3) “like” my facebook page (f00dventures)

4) Visis the teeccino website store (click here) and tell me what you would most like to try. With all of the delicious flavor options, I’m sure it’s hard to pick just one 😉

Be sure to comment below for each of the steps you completed. I will be putting names into a hat and pulling ten at random. Those who complete the most steps will have a greater chance of winning. Giveaway will end Wednesday, February 12 am EST.

*Teeccino was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

68 thoughts on “CLOSED Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 5 – Teeccino coffee and superseed cereal

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your week of reviews and giveaways. And it sound like it’ been fun for you and Edward too 😉
    I already subscribe to your blog and looking at their products, I think I’d love the blueberry energy bites! Yum!

  2. I would love to try the TeeChia cereals in any flavor. I do not enjoy eating breakfast and am usually very sluggish in the mornings. Since I do enjoy various seeds this would be ideal for me in the mornings or any time of the day. I love all the fact that it is filled with antioxidants, etc. I must also let you know that I have never heard of your products and since I have members of my family that love coffee but are unable to handle caffeine I am so glad that I found out about your products. Thanks for the great giveaway!!!

    • I’m actually just a blogger hosting a giveaway so they aren’t actually “my” products but i’m glad you found the giveaway! the coffee’s are great because you can do drink them anytime of day without the side effects of regular coffee. and they all taste amazing. the teechia cereals are also amazing! i have been snacking on them everyday. i will be announcing 10 winners tomorrow so keep your fingers crossed that you’re one of them 🙂

  3. Very excited to have just subscribed to your blog and liked your FB page. Of all the flavors on the website, I would most like to try Vanilla Nut, as I think it would go well with the lavender sugar I recently made with dried lavender buds grown in my garden.:) Off now to look for you on Pinterest!

  4. I subscribed to your email updates (I used the email address I filled into my “details” – don’t want to get a bunch of spam by posting it public)

  5. Pingback: Product review and giveaway: Garden of life | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

