Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 4 – Sun Cups

Welcome to day 4 of my extravaganza! Again, today’s post is a product review. Stay tuned for one last surprise giveaway!

sun cups 3

For those of you wanting a better alternative to your chocolate treats, this may be it. I am in love with these sun cup chocolate cups (click me for website). Not only are these sun cups gluten, nut, corn, and soy free but they are also GMO free and made with certified organic or natural ingredients.

Another interesting little tidbit about these chocolate cups is the cacao they are made with. It comes from Rainforest Alliance Certified farms which is an international nonprofit organization that  helps to conserve biodiversity and ensure sustainable livelihoods for farmers and families in cacao-growing communities.  That is definitely something I can stand behind.

sun cups 1 sun cups 2

I received a nice sampler pack of 4 different chocolate cup flavors; milk chocolate made with sunflower butter, milk chocolate with caramel, dark chocolate with sunflower butter, and dark chocolate with mint.

As soon as my fiancé saw these on the counter, he couldn’t help himself and decided he needed to help me taste test them. My dad also helped taste test so you get 3 different opinions in this review!

Milk chocolate with sunflower butter: This was the first flavor we taste tested. I have never had sunflower butter so it took a little bit to get used to. In the end, I really liked this one. My dad and Edward agreed it was good but it was not their favorite of all of the flavors we tried.

1 cup contained 120 calories, 9 g total fat (3.5 g saturated), 2 g fiber, 6 g sugar, and 2 g protein.

Milk chocolate with caramel: We taste tested this one next. I really like this one. It was overflowing with caramel and my dad and Edward were both in agreement that this one was the best tasting. Edward even said that this was better than a reese’s peanut butter cup and that is Edward’s favorite candy.

 1 cup contained 100 calories, 7 g total fat (4.5 g saturated), 0 g fiber, 10g sugar, and 1 g protein.

Dark chocolate with sunflower butter: I actually think I liked this one better than the milk chocolate one. The combination of the slightly salty sunflower butter with the dark chocolate was really nice. Again, it wasn’t Edward’s or my dad’s favorite but they agreed it was still good.

The entire package (2 cups) contained 230 calories, 16 g total fat (6 g saturated), 2 g fiber, 14g sugar, and 4 g protein.

Dark chocolate with mint: This was my favorite. I am a sucker for anything that combines chocolate and mint. There’s a fine line between minty and toothpaste mint. I am happy to say this mint was not toothpaste tasting in the least. It was yummy chocolate-y/minty goodness. I was almost reluctant to share it with Edward and my dad. Surprisingly, Edward did try this one. He’s not a chocolate/mint lover like me but he even enjoyed this one.

The entire package (2 cups) contained 200 calories, 12 g total fat (7 g saturated), 2 g fiber, 17 g sugar, and 2 g protein.

Nutritionally, these are still candy and the nutritional information reflects that. Just to compare, a package of reese’s peanut butter cups (2 cups) contains 210 calories, 13 g total fat (4.5 g saturated), 21 g sugar, and 5 g protein. As you can see from above, the sun cups are pretty comparable. However, the Sun Cups are made with organic ingredients, they are great for those who have nut allergies, they are GMO free, and they support a great cause. Not only that, but they are delicious and “even better than a Reese’s cup” – quote taken directly from Edward. So be sure to check these out. They can be purchased online or you can use the handy dandy ‘store locator’ tab on the website to find them locally at a store near you.

* Sun Cups was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.*

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried sun cups before? What’s your favorite type of treat? Comment below or on my facebook page (f00dventures).

5 thoughts on “Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 4 – Sun Cups

Share your thoughts :)

