Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 3 – Larabar ALT

Welcome to day 3 of my extravaganza! To be clear, today’s post is just a product review. Stay tuned for a surprise giveaway later in the week 🙂

I recently posted some guidelines discussing what to look for when choosing protein/snack bars (that post can be found here -> click me) and larabars was amongst one of my top brands of choice. Admittedly, I had never tried a few of the bars in my protein bar/snack post (raw revolution and larabar ALT) but they still impressed me nutrition and ingredients wise.  So I was really excited when Larabar agreed to send me all 4 of their larabar ALT bars so I could do a full review on them.

larabar alt

So before I get into the actual flavors, I want to discuss Larabar and the nutrition stats. Each bar seems to contain anywhere from 210-240 calories. Each flavor contains 3g of fiber, 10g protein, 1g fat, and around ~15 g sugar. The sugar content is one thing to beware of because it is a little high (even if it is from natural sources). However, depending on the flavor, each bar is equivalent to 1/4 to 1/2 cup of fruit.

What’s unique about these bars is that they use an alternative protein source, pea protein, so these bars are not only vegan but also gluten free, dairy free, and non-GMO. Another thing I love about these bars is that they contain less than 10 ingredients and they’re pretty much all ingredients I recognize. For example, the peanut butter cookie (which I can already tell will be my favorite) contains dates, peanuts, pea protein, brown rice syrup, and sunflower oil. That’s it. However, there are two bars that also contain ‘natural flavors’ which is pretty vague. According to the FDA, natural flavorings are “derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, egg, milk product…whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional.” if I were to purchase these in the future, I would probably just stick with the two flavors that contain purely natural ingredients (pumpkin pie and peanut butter cookie).

So as of right now, the larabar ALT bars come in 4 different flavors; lemon pound cake, cinnamon apple crisp, pumpkin pie, and peanut butter cookie. I decided to list the bars in order from least favorite to most favorite:

Lemon pound cake This is one of the bars that contains ‘natural flavors’.  The texture was a tad dry but, overall, it had a nice, subtle lemon flavor. I’m not sure if I would purchase it as there were other flavors I liked much better.

Cinnamon apple crisp This was the other bar that contained ‘natural flavors’. The texture was moist and crunchy which was a nice change of pace. There was a slight peanut flavor as well as a nice sweet, cinnamon apple flavor. It was a really nice combination of flavors and despite the ‘natural flavors, it is a flavor I would consider buying if I came across it in the store.

Pumpkin pie This was amongst my favorites of all of the bars. This bar is a combination of the perfect mix of spices with the perfect amount of pumpkin flavor. The pumpkin was not overpowering which was perfect for someone like me who doesn’t care for overly strong pumpkin flavors. This is definitely a bar I would purchase if I came across it in the store.

Peanut butter cookie I knew I would like this flavor because the peanut butter cookie larabar is my favorite larabar. So I knew this one would be even better. And I was right. Similar to the cinnamon apple crisp bar, the texture was nice and moist with a slight crunch. The flavor was the perfect merriment of sweet and salty and peanut buttery goodness. If I came across this bar, I would purchase as many as I could carry then hoard them all.

If you’re looking for a bar with natural ingredients, fiber, and protein; these are a great choice! Overall, these bars (mostly) impressed me ingredient wise and really impressed me flavor wise.  I will definitely be keeping an eye out for the pumpkin pie and peanut butter cookie flavors.

* Larabar was generous enough to send me these samples for free. I received these samples for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my personal experience.*

Question of the day:

Have you tried larabar or another protein/snack bar? Do you have a favorite flavor? Or maybe you make your own snack bars?

Comment below or on my facebook page (f00dventures).

10 thoughts on “Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 3 – Larabar ALT

  1. I would consider trying the Pumpkin Pie bar-sounds yummy! Although I have never had any protein/snack bars ever. When do you eat these? As a snack? After working out?

    • the pumpkin pie was really nice! i typically eat these as snacks post workout or just whenever. i also tend to throw them in my purse so i have something while i’m out. unfortunately i haven’t seen them locally which is a shame because i would buy the pumpkin pie and peanut butter cookie one.

    • lol yeah the lemon wasn’t my favorite. i’m bummed i can’t seem to find these bars anywhere locally though because i would purchase some of them if i came across them at the store.

    • Highly recommend it. I love the peanut butter cookie larabar. All of the larabar ALT bars were really good, also. I recommend trying the pure organic bars as well. They are made with recognizable ingredients and the chocolate brownie flavor is to die for ❤

  2. Pingback: Nutrition Thursday: Larabar review and Giveaway | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

