Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 1 – Ella’s Kitchen

ellas kitchen1

Welcome to the first day of my product review and giveaway extravaganza! I’m glad you could make it 🙂 The products I am reviewing today are products I won in a facebook giveaway. A friend of mine actually spoke quite highly of these products so when I  had the chance to win some in a giveaway, I jumped at it. Partly because I wanted to try the product myself and partly because I love doing product reviews for you guys.

A  little about the company, first. Ella’s Kitchen is a company that makes baby food products starting from 4+ months to 10+ months. They also offer ‘special diet’ products for those with gluten and lactose intolerances as well as vegetarian options.  The ingredients used are USDA organic and the packaging is BPA free.

Paul, Ella’s dad, first started the company because he wanted his daughter as well as other’s in her generation to have healthy, tasty food available to them. But he also wanted to make this healthy, tasty food fun and cool. So he designed a product that would offer not only natural ingredients needed for healthy growing babies but he also chose packaging with fun colors, textures, and names (like ‘wakey wakey baby cereal’) that would appeal to the younger generation.  He has also worked closely with professionals in the field like dietitians and psychologists to ensure that his products offer the most bang for their buck nutritionally, mentally, and physically.

So having said all of that, I won two purees to try; pears, peas + broccoli was the first and apples, sweet potatoes, pumpkin + blueberries was the second. Check out the rest of their flavors here -> click me.

Ingredients wise, both contain all natural, organic ingredients which I like. There are no extra preservatives, no artificial ingredients, and they are GMO free. All they contain are natural ingredients that I recognize. In addition, as mentioned above, the packaging is BPA free which is another plus. Nutritionally these are great because they provide a nice variety of nutrients and flavors. It can be difficult to get kids to eat their veggies like broccoli so the pears, peas + broccoli pouch is a great way to sneak some of those veggies into your kids tummies.

Since these are made for kids that are around ~4 months old, the fiber is on the lower end as infants up to 6 months do not need extra fiber in the diet. Once infants reach 6 months, foods with fiber like baby cereal, vegetables, and legumes can be gradually added into the diet. It is recommended that infants eat 5 grams of fiber per day until they reach 1 years old. Once your toddler reaches 1-3 years old, it is recommended they increase their fiber intake to 19 g daily. Looking at some of the products on the Ella’s kitchen website, many of the meals made for 7+ and 10+ months contain anywhere from 2-4 g fiber per serving so incorporating these into your child’s meals will definitely help them meet their daily fiber needs.

Taste wise,  these were better than I expected. I ending up throwing them in my purse as I wanted to see how they would hold up as on-the-go snacks. The pouches are very easy to use and the puree is thick enough that if you even hold these upside down, nothing spills out. I even waved it around upside down and still not even one drop fell out. So that’s pretty impressive. In addition, the cap does screw back on so if it’s not eaten in one sitting, you can put the cap back on and save it for later. These pouches hold 3.5 oz of puree and were actually more filling than expected.

ellaskitchen2

So I tried the Pears, peas + broccoli one first as it was the one I was most hesitant to try. I figured I would get it out of the way first. I could immediately smell the broccoli flavor which was a little off putting and I could definitely taste the broccoli. However, the pear flavor adds a nice sweetness.

I tried the apples, sweet potatoes, pumpkin + blueberries when I was with a friend. She thought it a bit strange at first that I was essentially eating pureed baby food but when I told her it was really just pureed fruit/veggies, she didn’t think much of it beyond that and even commented on how the flavor actually sounded good. This flavor really tasted just like applesauce with a hint of the sweet potato/pumpkin and blueberries. It was a nice flavor, overall.

So, in summary, I feel these are great for both babies and adults alike. They are convenient, spill proof, and overall pretty tasty. They contain only USDA organic ingredients and are also BPA free which is a plus in my book. These can be purchased both online and are also available in various stores (go here to see where you can purchase them at a store near you: http://www.ellaskitchen.com/store-locator/).

*I won these products in a giveaway. This post is in no way sponsored. All views and opinions are my own*

Question of the day:

Have you ever tried this product? Or maybe you feed it to your little one? Let me know in the comments below or on my facebook page (f00dventures) what you liked/disliked about these products!

8 thoughts on “Product review and giveaway extravaganza: DAY 1 – Ella’s Kitchen

  1. Ella tried a few of these when she was a baby. The biggest complaint I had is that while the ages are geared toward babies under a year, it is not very easy to feed these to a baby that age. They don’t grasp the idea of sucking them out of the pouch until later (at least most babies I’ve met) so you have to have a spoon and squeeze them into the spoon first. The tase was good. I think they are better for babies over the age of one who don’t need to be spoon fed. Otherwise it is messy!

    • lol they really weren’t bad. they’re basically just pureed fruit and vegetables. they are very portable and convenient which I liked. they do sell something similar to this at target (for adults). i’ve seen them at target.

  2. I have actually tried them. I feed them to our 11 month old baby on a regular basis and I don’t feed her anything without trying it first. I love all of the weird combos 🙂

Share your thoughts :)

