Middle eastern Maftoul

20140120-202124.jpg

I love bringing ethnic cuisine to the dinner table. Ethnic foods have such great flavors and it makes me feel like I’m being cultural without even having to leave the house. So when Edward asked what was for dinner tonight, I came up with the dish pictured above. I used a combination of three different spices to add some flavor; garlic, smoked black pepper, and cumin. Just a pinch of each was all that was needed. In addition to the spices, I decided to also use mixed bell peppers and onions for a little extra “somethin’ somethin'”. And at the last minute, I decided to add in some tomatoes, pinto beans, and some turkey burger for a little extra protein and flavor. In the end, this dish turned out delicious; full of flavor and filling. And the best part? Edward even ate an entire bowl of it. And he proceeded to eat it all week!

Makes ~6 servings
ingredients

– 1 cup broth of choice; I used chicken as it was what we had on hand

– 1 cup Maftoul aka middle eastern couscous (I used the ziyad brand)

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 1 tsp each smoked black pepper, garlic powder, and cumin

– 1 cup onion and mixed peppers

– 1 cup diced tomatoes

– 15 oz pinto beans

– 12 oz lean turkey burgers

directions

1) prepare your onions and bell peppers and cook until translucent so they are ready to add later. Once translucent, set aside.

2) in a medium sized pot, combine your broth, olive oil, and Maftoul. Simmer for 10-12 minutes until tender. Add in your spices, onions and peppers, beans, and tomatoes and let simmer while you prepare your turkey burgers.

3) the turkey burgers I used were frozen so I had to,cook them separately. If yours are already cooked and ready to go, you can go,ahead and add them to,your pot. Otherwise, cook them in a separate skillet until cooked through then cut into bite size pieces and add to,your Maftoul.

4) simmer for about 5 more minutes to allow all of the flavors to combine then remove from heat and Serve.

2 thoughts on “Middle eastern Maftoul

  1. Oh, I do something similar with Snow Cap Beans and Quinoa! Being celiac, I can’t use couscous. But I’ve found I actually prefer the texture and protein content of quinoa, so it’s been no loss.

Share your thoughts :)

