UPDATED Nature’s Best JavaPro protein powder product review

java pro sample

First off, I did not receive these for free. Well, ok, I lied I did but not in the way you think. Edward actually received these as samples from work and I stole them from him. It’s not like he really drinks caffeine anyway. Ok, I don’t drink caffeine either and you can see why in the top picture. Let’s just say caffeine makes me feel like I can see sounds. Which is why I limit myself to caffeine once every couple of weeks. i like to enjoy it more as an occasional treat rather than something i need to survive. So my review of this product might be a little different from someone who drinks coffee/caffeine on a regular basis.

Nutrition wise, each serving contains 110 calories, 1.5 grams total fat (0.25 of that is saturated), 50 mg cholesterol, 2 gram total carbohydrates (1 of those grams is from sugar), and 20 g protein (from whey protein which is considered a complete protein as it contains all 9 essential amino acids). In addition, it also contains about 13% of a large range of vitamins and minerals so it can be deemed a good source of said vitamins and minerals. Although this does contain an artificial sweetener, sucralose (i.e. splenda), which I typically try to stay away from, I decided to overlook it because in the grand scheme of things, the amount was so infinitesimal. Overall, it’s an excellent source of protein, good source of various vitamins/minerals, and low in fat/calories/sugar. In terms of caffeine, one serving contains 80 mg caffeine. I felt like I could have ran a marathon after drinking this. Which was perfect since I tend to do higher intensity workouts and this helped me push through.

Ok, taste wise. Since Edward works at GNC, he’s always bringing home all kinds of products so I’ve tried a lot of protein shakes and protein bars. In fact, I lived on the odwalla bars during my undergrad and the quest protein bars during my dietetic internship. I used to hoard the quest bars in my lab coat. However, most protein shakes and protein bars don’t impress me taste wise. I always taste that signature “protein” taste and it’s just not something I enjoy. Having said that, I did not get that whatsoever with the java pro. Possibly because the coffee flavor was able to hide any “protein” flavor that might have been lurking in there. I normally can’t stand the taste of coffee either so I was a little worried at first but after my first sip I knew I was in the clear. It was just sweet enough to taste the coffee flavor without being overpowering.

Overall opinion: I felt like I could take on the world with this protein shake. Ok, maybe that’s a little dramatic. But really I loved the addition of coffee in a protein shake. It gave me the energy I needed to get off my butt and workout as well as the protein I needed to help my muscles recuperate. So go and try these. or not. whatever.

2 thoughts on “UPDATED Nature’s Best JavaPro protein powder product review

Share your thoughts :)

