Homemade chocolate bark stuffed with homemade caramel and roasted peanuts

20131101-102016.jpg

So yesterday was halloween and I’m sure many of us don’t need an excuse to have MORE candy in the house so maybe tuck this recipe away for a rainy day. I was going to wait to to post it but, well, I’m impatient.

So I kind of came upon this recipe by accident. I had heard that you can make a caramel/dulce de leche sauce simply by putting a can of sweetened condensed milk in a water bath for 4 hours. It’s something I’ve been wanting to try for years. I’m not sure what made me try it in halloween when we had bags full of candy laying around. It’s not like we needed more sweet goodness laying around. But again, I’m sick of waiting so I thought I would try it and see what happened. Well, this is what happened:

20131101-102435.jpg

It worked! I made myself a nice, sweet 14 oz can of caramel sauce. Now what? It was way too sickly sweet to eat on its own. So inspiration struck. I quickly melted a bag of milk chocolate chips with 1/4 cup of butter. Once melted, i tore off two pieces of wax paper and spread half of the mixture on one piece and the other half on the other piece. I spread my caramel sauce on top of one of the slabs of chocolate (I ended up using only about 60-70% of it), and then on top of that I spread a couple handfuls of peanuts (probably about 1/2-3/4 cup. Then I layered the other slab of chocolate on top of the piece that was covered with caramel and peanuts and threw it in the freezer to let it set. It ended up being much larger than I had anticipated; 10″x7″.

The end product was amazing. A large piece of chocolate bark stuffed with homemade caramel sauce and roasted peanuts! I think I’ve died. Unfortunately I’m not quite sure what to do with this either as I overdid it just a bit on the halloween candy yesterday. Any takers πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Homemade chocolate bark stuffed with homemade caramel and roasted peanuts

  1. Very very very cool!!! You are quite an inventive cook. (I like your commentary on healthful eating too.)
    I want your creative input, ok?
    I fell in love with an orange fudge that I purchased in Park City Utah a few years back. I really loved that. It was a soft fudge. Any ideas on how to re-create that in my kitchen???
    Thanks and sincerely yours. Mona

    • Aw thank you so much! Your comment made my day πŸ™‚
      As for the orange fudge, I make a super simple fudge with chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk. Just melt the two together in a pot over medium heat until melted. Add in any flavorings once melted – I’m assuming the orange fudge you had was chocolate with an orange flavor so you could try adding in orange peel or maybe orange zest possibly for that orange flavor. Once you have your flavorings and add ins, chill for a couple hours then enjoy πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Salted Caramel Flapjack | thecakedoctorssurgery

  3. Pingback: 3 DIY homemade caramels | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

