Quinoa and veggie stuffed bell peppers

After eating spinach salads for the last few weeks, I finally got sick of em and decided to investigate other ways to get more veggies into my diet. Plus, my spinach went bad so I was left with a bunch of red and white onions, green and red bell peppers and other veggies but no lettuce or spinach to mix them with. So not wanting all of my veggies to go to waste, I decided to cook up some stuffed peppers. I had never made them before but they always intrigued me so I thought why not try em out?

20131017-173236.jpg

(vegan, gluten free, dairy free)

ingredients
3 bell peppers, cut lengthwise with seeds and membranes removed
1/2 small red onion, diced
1 clove garlic, diced
1/2 white onion, diced
24 oz tomato sauce of choice (I didn’t use all of it but feel free to experiment)
10 oz quinoa precooked (brown rice may be substituted)
1/2 cup diced tomatoes
1 cup mixed vegetables (I used broccoli, carrots, and cauliflower and finely diced them in my food processor)

directions
1) start by browning your onions and garlic in some oil until translucent. Add to a large bowl. Combine your quinoa, tomatoes, tomato sauce, and vegetables. Mix well.
2) preheat oven to 350 degrees and oil a large glass cooking dish. Place your 6 bell pepper halves cut side up in the dish. Spoon some of the mixture from step 1 into each bell pepper half. Any leftover sauce spoon on top of and around the peppers.
3) bake for 60 minutes.

Share your thoughts :)

