Carrot cake energy bites

20131005-110944.jpg

Here’s a great little pick me up snack that is very portable and very tasty. These little energy bites have all the flavor of carrot cake without all of the extra fat and sugar.

(raw, vegan, dairy free, nut free, can be made gluten free)

Makes 16-20 decent sized bite sized balls
ingredients
1 to 1 1/2 cup oats
About 15 dates, softened
Cinnamon and nutmeg to taste
1 cup shredded carrot
1/4 cup oil
1/3 cup raisins (optional)

directions
1)Combine all ingredients in a food processor until well mixed. Start with 1 cup oats and if your mixture seems too wet, add a few spoonfuls of oats at a time until you get the consistency you want. You don’t want your mixture too sticky otherwise it will be too hard to handle.
2) roll your dough into bite size balls and store in an airtight container. I freeze mine so they last longer. I also like them better frozen. But these can also be stored in the refrigerator.

3 thoughts on “Carrot cake energy bites

  1. Yum, I love making energy balls. I wouldn’t have thought of making a carrot cake flavored recipe. Then again, I think I have eaten carrot cake only once! It’s not very popular in France lol

  2. That sounds excellent. I may just try it when I harvest my carrots. ^_^ I’ve been making “Protein Bites” with pumpkin or zucchini, depending on what I’ve got on hand. They really are bite-sized, and I just mix them up with an egg, some chopped nutes, protein powder, and sometimes a few tablespoons of Teff or Coconut Flour (and mini chocolate chips…).

Share your thoughts :)

