Foodservice rotations and Roasted beets in olive oil

20130813-191519.jpg

I have my new friend, chef Steve, to thank for this ridiculously easy, ridiculously tasty snack. Chef Steve was kind enough to help me prep today for my theme meal tomorrow. Wait, theme meal? Let me back up a bit and explain what I’ve been up to.

For those of you who have been religiously following me (I thank you if you’re still following), you may recall that I am in the midst of completing a dietetic internship. In order to graduate from the internship, I am required to do a 4 week foodservice rotation (I am currently in the final week of my foodservice rotation). In order to successfully complete my rotation, I am required to pull off a theme meal in the hospital cafeteria. In order to successfully pull this off, I had to learn the ins and outs of foodservice; tray line, dishroom, purchasing, prepping, standardizing recipes, etc). For,the first couple of weeks of my foodservice rotation, I shadowed various foodservice workers so I could learn how foodservice in a hospital works. The theme meal is a sort of final project, if you will, that occurs at the end of the rotation – it’s really a culmination of everything I have learned throughout the rotation. My theme meal is tomorrow already – time flies when You’re having fun 😉

While shadowing various employees, I came up with a theme for my theme meal (local produce) and the head chef and I (enter chef Steve) decided on a ‘build-your-own’ salad special featuring locally purchased produce. Going along with this idea, I also developed handouts featuring the local farmers markets in an effort to bring more awareness to purchasing locally. I included information such as why purchasing local is more beneficial, why farmers markets are a great place to buy local, and included 3 recipes that could be made from local produce purchased at the farmers market.

Last week chef Steve and I devised a list of the produce I would need for my theme meal, the food clerk and I ordered the produce, and today chef Steve and I prepared it so we would be good to go for my theme meal tomorrow. We also devised a recipe, standardized the recipe so that it would feed 60 people, calculated recipe production costs, and analyzed the nutritional content of the salad.

20130813-194303.jpg

So while chef Steve and I were prepping ingredients today, he showed me some great recipes, one of which was for these super easy roasted beets.

ingredients
Olive oil
Beets

directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees f. Spray a 9×13 in glass pan and drizzle olive oil so that it coats the bottom of the pan. Roll your beets in the olive oil and coat well. Bake for 1 hr and 15 min or until a knife enters center of beet smoothly. Cut off the outer brown coating to reveal the nicely cooked beet underneath. What you do with them next is up to you. For my theme meal, chef Steve and I cut them in half then sliced each half into half moons as seen in the picture above. Makes for the perfect snack size 😉

I never knew I even liked beets or that they could taste so good! Wish me luck on my theme meal tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Foodservice rotations and Roasted beets in olive oil

Share your thoughts :)

