Cinnamon spice homemade protein bars

I have a confession to make. I have had an unhealthy addiction to protein bars these last few months. Well, I wouldn’t go as far as calling it an addiction. But I have been eating them almost every day since starting this internship. And I have felt guilty about it every single day. To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of protein bars because of the lack of recognizable ingredients. I’m not going to name any names but let’s just say I have yet to find a protein bar that impresses me ingredients wise. I never used to need protein bars but I’m finding that they are great pick-me-ups when I start to drag at the hospital.

So, after months of buying protein bars to get me through my shifts, I decided enough was enough. I’m sick of spending money on bars that I don’t really want to buy in the first place. I decided to just make my own. So I give you, cinnamon spiced protein bars:

20130407-183700.jpg

20130407-183716.jpg

ingredients
Makes 10 bars

– 1 cup dates (make sure to pack the dates well when you measure, these are what help hold your bars together so you don’t want to skimp)
– 1 1/2 cup oats
– 4 scoops vanilla protein powder (I used gold standard 100% whey protein powder)
– 1/2 cup peanut butter (I actually used pb2 and it worked well)
– 4 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
– 1 tbsp honey
– cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg (to taste, I like a lot of spice so I added a lot)

Directions
Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend very well until your mixture starts to clump together. Remove mixture from food processor and press into an 8×8 inch pan. The mixture will be a little hard to work with so this part will require some muscle to get it to spread out evenly into your pan. Once in your pan, cut into 10 even bars. At this point it is up to you how you store them. I chose to relocate the bars into a freezer safe bag and freeze them but you can also refrigerate them.

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon spice homemade protein bars

  1. Looks yum!!

    (psst.. hope you’re doing fine Kirsten! It’s been a while hasn’t it! I thought I’d drop by and say ‘hey, I’m still here.’ heheh)

    Keep it up hun! I’m still ‘stalking you’ 😛 xx Donah

Share your thoughts :)

