10 SIMPLE steps to make GOOD habits more DELICIOUS: STEP 4

I sincerely apologize that it took me so long to get a post up. I started my first week of clinicals last week so I had a very busy week.

But I took a personal day today due to some crazy weather we’ve been having. Last night I got off work at 4:45pm and I didn’t get home until about 7pm. It took me over 2 hours to drive home. Just for reference, it normally takes me less than an hour to drive home.

So anyway, welcome to step 4 in this series. This step focuses on incorporating more fruits and veggies into your day. It was reported by the 2010 dietary guidelines that, compared to the recommended intakes, the usual vegetable intake is 59% of where it should be and fruit is only at 42% of the goal. Try using the tips below to incorporate more fruits and veggies into your day:

get fruity first thing
Try adding fruit to your cereal like sliced banana or a handful of strawberries or blueberries. Adding fruit to oatmeal also makes for not just a healthy and filling breakfast, but a tasty one as well. Or make a fruit smoothie! For example, this morning I made a smoothie with some 100% fruit juice, some peach chobani Greek yogurt, apricots, pineapple, oranges, chia seeds, and oats. Smoothies are a great way to get multiple servings of fruits as well as incorporate the whole fruit into your drink (as opposed to juicing which may only use parts of the fruit).

take the easy route
Make it easy on yourself and buy vegetables that are east to prepare I.e. pre washed salad blends, baby carrots, or celery sticks. The latter are especially easy to take on the go with you for an afternoon snack.

keep fruit at your fingertips
If you see it, you will eat it. Keep a bowl of fruit or bunches of bananas in plain open view. You will be more likely to grab those to snack on than digging through your pantry or refrigerator for something.

be colorful
Don’t be afraid of color! Add a wide variety of flavors and colors to your meals. Different colored fruits and veggies offer different nutrients. Color your plate! Not only will your body reap the nutritional benefits but it will also make for a gorgeous meal. And as it is often said, we eat with our eyes.

eat em ell
Don’t shy away from frozen or canned fruits and veggies. Frozen can be a great alternative when fruits and veggies aren’t in season. I like to buy fresh fruits when in season and then freeze the extras. But when I run it, I resort to buying frozen. That way I can make tasty smoothies and homemade berry granola bars all year long.

munch on raw veggies
Bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, or raw broccoli can make for a great afternoon snack!

fruit on pizza
Make a tropical pizza by adding pineapple, mangoes, cream cheese, and any other fruits your heart desires. Or add apple slices to a salad or cranberries to a side dish. Get creative!

make every meal count
Try to add fruits and veggies to every meal. When I make my homemade Mac and cheese, I try to add in chopped up cauliflower and broccoli for an extra veggie boost. Or Sometimes I will use a tri color pasta. Just try with some small changes at first and see how it goes.

One thought on “10 SIMPLE steps to make GOOD habits more DELICIOUS: STEP 4

Share your thoughts :)

