Make ahead breakfast: oatmeal bake

20130202-214326.jpg

I’m a huge fan of both baked oatmeal and make ahead breakfasts. Since starting this internship, I have had zero time in the mornings to sit down for a nice breakfast. Instead, I make breakfast ahead of time and eat it on the go. Really, making breakfast ahead isn’t new for me. Even when I had nothing else going on, I liked having a make ahead breakfast. It just makes breast fast that much easier. I don’t have to sit and stare at the refrigerator and wonder what I’m going to eat.

I have played around with baked oatmeal recipes in this past but I’ve never made any that incorporated egg or bananas. So when I saw this recipe, I knew I had to make it as it intrigued me.

Recipe found here: http://www.sohowsittaste.com/2012/06/blueberry-raspberry-baked-oatmeal.html

I decided to double the recipe so it would fit into a 9×13 baking dish so the recipe below reflects the amount of ingredients needed for a 9×13 baking dish.

20130202-220227.jpg

ingredients:
2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 cup chopped walnuts, divided
1 tsp. baking powder
2-3 tsp. ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup maple syrup (I used sugar free)
2 cup milk (I used skim)
2 large egg, lightly beaten
2 tsp. vanilla extract
2-3 ripe bananas, mashed
2.5 cup mixed berries, fresh or frozen, divided (I used raspberries, blackberries, and strawberries)

directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 375F.

2. Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish. In a medium bowl, mix the oats, half of the walnuts, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Stir to combine. In a separate bowl mash your bananas and set aside.
In a liquid measuring cup, combine the syrup, milk, egg, and vanilla. Add your mashed banana to the liquid ingredients and mix very well.

3. Spread your fruit in a single layer over the bottom of the baking dish. Sprinkle the dry oat mixture over the fruit in an even layer. Pour the liquid ingredients evenly over the oats.

4. Sprinkle the remaining nuts and berries over the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the top is browned and the oats have set. Let cool 10 minutes before serving.

This is a great breakfast option because it has a large variety of various food groups so you can start your day with a flavorful, nutrient packed breakfast.

How do you start your day? Cereal? Eggs? Fruit? What’s your go-to breakfast?

3 thoughts on “Make ahead breakfast: oatmeal bake

  1. Pingback: Fruit and Nut Sensation | Savor the Food

Share your thoughts :)

