Vegetarian chili pot

20130116-223455.jpg

I am so happy I am finally able to not only post a recipe, but I was also able to make this meal tonight as a late snack.

It’s a great zesty chili, perfect for these cold January nights (at least that’s what we’ve been having in Michigan).

We actually made this today during my rotation at the weight control/bariatric clinic. Not only do the dietitians there counsel their patients for weight loss and bariatric diets, they also teach cooking and nutrition classes. So the recipe below was actually a recipe we made during a nutrition class earlier today. It’s super easy to make, budget friendly, and best of all? Delicious!

ingredients
(Makes 4, 1 cup servings)
– 1 cup instant brown rice (minute instant whole grains works well, not uncle bens)
– 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
– 1 can diced tomatoes (I used the delmonte tomatoes in lime juice)
– 1 cup water
– 1 tbsp dried minced onion
– 1/2 tsp chili powder
– 1/2 tsp oregano
– 1/- tsp cumin

directions
1) combine all ingredients in a medium sized microwave container. Cover and microwave on high for 12 minutes. Stir and serve hot.

I find it kind of funny actually that I made this tonight. I hadn’t planned on it really. I started my rotation today at 9am and didn’t get home until 8:35 pm. So frankly, I was quite tired when I got home. Once I get home though, I still have to shower, prepare my lunch and protein shake for the next day, and lay out my outfit for the next day. So I planned on doing those things then relaxing. However, Edward decided to make a pot of rice. And there were leftovers. So I thought to myself, “hey! I know what I can do with this!” So I just added a can of black beans, a can of delmonte diced tomatoes, some cumin and black pepper and voila! Within 5 minutes, I had a pot of vegetarian chili ready to go.

Are you a chili person or more of a chicken noodle lover?

5 thoughts on “Vegetarian chili pot

Share your thoughts :)

