Dinner is served: cajun chicken roll-ups and cheesy garlic mashed cauliflower

Since I’ve been posting a plethora of dessert recipes lately, I thought I would change things up and post a recipe for “real food”.

I usually prefer baking as opposed to cooking which is why a majority of my recipes seem to be snacks or desserts. However, I know you really shouldn’t live off of just desserts so I’m slowly familiarizing myself with cooking.

I found a recipe for a Cajun cheese stuffed chicken and thought it would be nice to try out. I combined two recipes to get the end product and I think it worked out quite nicely. I also made a cheesy garlic mashed cauliflower to go with the chicken (that recipe can be found at the bottom of this post).

Not to toot my own horn but this was one of the best chicken dishes I have ever had. The cheese gave the chicken that little extra “somethin’ somethin” and the yogurt sauce on top melted into the chicken and made it extremely moist and tender. Each bite just melted in my mouth. This is the dish I would bring if I were ever in need of making a dish for company or got invited somewhere to which i needed to bring a dish. Seriously, if you make just one recipe from my blog, make this one!

Cajun chicken roll ups

20121023-165209.jpg
ingredients
– 2 large chicken breasts
– 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup shredded cheese depending in how large your chicken breasts are (I used a shredded pepper jack cheese)
– 1/2 cup yogurt
– 1 tsp paprika
– 1 tsp garlic powder
– 3/4 tsp oregano
– toothpicks

directions
1) spray a small glass pan and preheat your oven to 350 degrees f.
2) get out a large cutting board and place your chicken breasts on top. Butterfly your chicken breasts and lay flat on the cutting board. (NOTE: butterfly cut is when you cut your breast almost in half lengthwise but don’t cut all the way through the breast. You are left with a much larger surface area to work with and a much thinner chicken breast. Makes it easier to stuff and roll up.)
3) get out your cheese and spread over top of your cut chicken breasts.
4) now comes the fun part. Carefully roll up your breasts, trying to keep as much of the cheese inside as possible. I found once I rolled them up, it was best to secure them with toothpicks. Once they were rolled up, I also cut the roll ups in half so I had 4 chicken roll ups total. Place chicken roll ups inside your glass dish.
5) set aside your chicken for a minute and get out your yogurt and spices. Combine the yogurt with the spices and if you have any cheese left over, throw that in as well.
6) mix well then spread generously over your rolled up chicken breasts.
7) bake for 35-40 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink inside.
8) nom nom nom 🙂

cheesy garlic mashed cauliflower

20121023-165247.jpg

ingredients
– about 2 cups cauliflower
– 1/4 cup cheese (I used a smoked cheddar)
– 1 to 2 cloves minced garlic
optional garlic powder
optional spoonful of butter

Directions
1) thaw your cauliflower (I just microwaved it for about 5 minutes). Once ready, you can use a masher or a food processor to mash up your cauliflower.
2) once mashed, add in your garlic and cheese and combine well.
3) nom nom 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dinner is served: cajun chicken roll-ups and cheesy garlic mashed cauliflower

    • Lol I can’t wait to try these dishes together. I mean I’ve stolen bites here and there but I wanted to wait to eat dinner with Edward and he’s not home yet. You should try both dishes. The chicken is amazing.

  1. Pingback: Dinner recipes! | f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

