Butterscotch and chocolate graham cracker bars

So I admit that originally I wasn’t even going to post this recipe. This was a recipe I kind of just threw together for a last minute treat to take with me to the farmers market. Today was the last farmers market of the season and to thank my fellow volunteers and coworkers for a great season, I thought a baked great would be nice.

Since I kind of just threw the recipe together, I didn’t think much about posting it. But then I got rave reviews form my friends at the market who tried my bars. Before I knew it, there was nothing left but the tin I had brought the bars in. On top of that, one woman liked the bars so much she had me write the recipe down for her so she could make them for a potluck.

So I decided this recipe was worth repeating. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the bars so just imagine a soft chocolate and butterscotch brownie with a nice chewy texture.

ingredients
– 1 bag butterscotch chips (I actually used less than a bag, probably more like 3/4 -2/3rds of a bag)
– 2 cups crushed graham crackers
– 2 tbsp butter
– 1 can sweetened condensed milk
– 1 bag chocolate chips
– 1-2 tsp vanilla

directions
1) preheat oven to 325 degrees f and spray a 9 x 13 glass container.
2) in a large bowl, melt your butter and butterscotch chips. Combine with the crushed graham crackers and mix until just moistened. Line your glass container with this crust and then set aside.
3) in a pot, melt your chocolate chips with the vanilla and sweetened condensed milk.
4) once melted, pour evenly over your crust. Do not mix.
5) bake for 30-35 minutes.
6) enjoy πŸ™‚

Like I said, these were a huge hit at the farmers market so I figured the recipe was worth sharing. Do you like butterscotch chips?

7 thoughts on “Butterscotch and chocolate graham cracker bars

    • Oh wow,that’s crazy! It’s super sweet so it’s definitely not my favorite. But Edward loves butterscotch. He especially loves them in magic cookie bars. If you haven’t heard of them, look up the recipe and make them ASAP. They are our number 1 favorite holiday cookie.

    • yeah i thought they were good but sweet. really i had no intention of eating them. my intent was to just make them for my fellow workers at the farmer’s market and maybe have a few left over for Edward and I (really more-so for Edward than for me). He’s the one that likes butterscotch chips. I really only like them in the magic 7 layer cookie bars. can you believe christmas is coming up soon already? have to start putting together a list of christmas cookies to make in the next few weeks. i like to start early and freeze my cookies rather than having to rush right before christmas to make them all.

      • Haha yeah I know what you mean. You’re so nice, baking up a storm for your whole neighborhood pretty much! πŸ˜‰ I cannot believe xmas is coming so soon! I refuse to let it arrive until it cools down over here. We had one nice week of rain and cool weather and now its 90F again today. WTF Cali?! lol. Anyway, you’re a boss, baking and freezing cookies. Why didn’t I think of that? Clever girl. I actually am refusing to bake unless it’s done the healthy way this year. I don’t want to sacrifice my weight loss goals. My bf’s mom isn’t happy about it. Everyone loves my baking. But then I guess she will just have to get used to healthy baking now! I found a bunch of amazing looking recipes on this blog > http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/ may try some of them x

      • Lol wow sounds like Cali weather is…interesting. We’ve had rain and gloom for a few days but its actually pleasant today. Only in the 60s but it feels warmer that that.

        It occurred to me last year that freezing cookies would save myself a lot of rushing about. It’s bad enough trying to finish all,of the Christmas shopping and wrappings presents and all that. Thankfully I got my baking done at a decent time so it was just one less thing to worry about.

        Good luck with the healthy cookies. I don’t think anyone would eat my cookies if I did that. Plus, we have our old standby by traditions and Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without all of the delicious fattening cookies πŸ˜‰

        I love chocolate covered Katie! Her coconut milk hot chocolate is quite tasty. I’ve made it quite a few times now. Her recipes are a hit or miss for me. I either really like them….or really don’t. Do you have a favorite yet?

      • Cali weather is like a mind game! lol . It likes to play with my emotions! Yeah I agree the rush can be stressful and crazy, but it is part of the fun. Good that you’re planning and doing it properly! Yeah, I know, I’m being a scrooge, but seriously, I’d rather have my goals accomplished! Lol. I think maybe I’ll have to experiment with some recipes to ensure I make the good ones only lol . Yeah I do too! No favorites yet, but a list of things to try x

Share your thoughts :)

