Fall favorite: Pumpkin chocolate chip muffin bars

20120925-155633.jpg

It’s do ironic to me that I’ve been craving pumpkin themed desserts/foods because I typically don’t like pumpkin that much. Especially pumpkin pie. I used pumpkin pie as an excuse to eat a large portion of whipped cream.

However, this year, I’ve been on a pumpkin kick! This is such a great, easy, and tasty dessert. The pumpkin makes these bars nice and moist and the cinnamon adds a nice little spicy kick. To me, these actually taste a bit like a chocolate chip cookie muffin bar but with a bit of a spicy kick (from the cinnamon).

I found this recipe here but made a few of my own changes.

Yield: about 16 decent sized bars

ingredients
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1 whole egg
2 egg whites
1 tbsp vegetable or canola oil
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup brown sugar, packed
3/4-1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

directions

1) Preheat oven to 350˚F. Spray an 8×8 inch pan and set aside.
2) In a large bowl, combine pumpkin puree, eggs and oil until smooth. Set aside.
3) In a separate medium bowl, mix together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, spices, salt and brown sugar. Add to the wet ingredients and mix until thoroughly incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.
4) Pour into prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until passes toothpick test. Cool completely before cutting.

Do you have a favorite pumpkin themed dessert? Do you have a favorite fall dessert?

8 thoughts on “Fall favorite: Pumpkin chocolate chip muffin bars

  1. LOL @ excuse to eat ridiculous amt of whipped cream. Straight from my own heart! haha. I’m so pissed I don’t have any pumpkin puree, but I get paid tomorrow so you can bet I’m gonna pick some up! I’ve been drooling over your damn fall recipes for like a week !! Thanks for sharing ❤

Share your thoughts :)

