Easy peasy gingerbread pumpkin muffin bars

20120921-193935.jpg

S if you’re an avid Pinterest user, like me, then you may have seen those pins where you add pop to a cake mix and get fluffy, moist muffins. Well, this follows that same idea but instead of cake mix, I used a gingerbread cookie mix (I used my favorite brand, krusteaz) and instead of pop I used canned pumpkin. That’s it. That’s all it took to get nice fluffy and moist muffin bars.

20120921-194205.jpg

It was really as easy as 1, 2, 3.
1) preheat oven to 350 degrees f and oil an 8×8 pan.
2) combine your cookie mix with half a can of pumpkin (I only had a 29 oz can on me so I just used half of it). Combine the 2 ingredients well and add to your pan.
3) bake for 20-25 minutes (until a toothpick inserted comes out clean).
4) cut into bars and enjoy 🙂

Ok, so it’s as easy as 1, 2, 3, 4. These came out so moist and flavorful. I will admit that I tasted more gingerbread than pumpkin so if you really want a pumpkin flavor, I would suggest using a different flavored cookie mix. But if you really like a nice spicy gingerbread flavor, then these are a must try.

While these were a winner for me, they weren’t so much for my fiancé. He hates spicy gingerbread (but yet he loves the krusteaz brand gingerbread pumpkin bars…go figure). Although I love these bars, I don’t want to eat them all myself. So I’ve decided to wrap them up and take them with me to the farmers market on Sunday to pass out to the workers and volunteers. I enjoy my time at the market and its because of all of the people I work with. For me, this is a time for giving and sharing.

Have you tried the cake/pop recipe idea? What combination did you try?

3 thoughts on “Easy peasy gingerbread pumpkin muffin bars

  1. I was thinking about trying this very idea, but searching the internet for someone who’d already tried it, just to be sure. Thanks for giving me courage; they’re in the oven now and I’m certain they’ll be great.

Share your thoughts :)

