Whole grain carrot, zucchini, banana muffins

I found this recipe on pinterest. It was labeled as an easy toddler snack but after looking at the ingredients, I thought it would make a great snack for anybody. I modified the recipe a bit to match my own personal preferences so the original recipe can be found here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Toddler-Muffins/Detail.aspx

The recipe below is my version.

Whole grain carrot, zucchini, banana muffins

ingredients

2 tbsp chia seeds + 5 tbsp water = 1/2 cup chia gel (I used this in place of butter)
1/2 – 3/4 cup dates
2 large bananas, mashed
4 oz mashed zucchini and squash
2 carrots, grated
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup oat bran
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips

directions
1) make your chia gel by combining the water and chia seeds in your food processor and letting sit for about 10 minutes. Once the gel forms, add in your zucchini and squash, bananas, carrots, baking soda, pumpkin pie spice, and dates.
2) once everything is nice and mixed, add in your flour, eggs, and bran. Once your batter is mixed well, add in your chocolate chips.
3) preheat oven to 350 degrees f. Spoon the batter evenly into your muffin cups. gowns able to make 12 mini muffins and 12 large muffins with this batter.
4) bake for 15-20 minutes then let cool for 10 minutes. Enjoy πŸ™‚

20120821-175553.jpg

I will say these muffins were a little bland. They tasted like banana bread but I had expected more of a pumpkin spice flavor due to the pumpkin spice seasoning. Perhaps next time I will add in a bit of pumpkin purΓ©e.

**also, be sure to check out sweetjellybean’s giveaway here: http://sweetjellybean.com/2012/08/21/be-the-first-sweetjellybean-cms-lucky-bean/
A sweet giveaway from a sweet blogger! And be sure to check out her blog while you’re at it. She has some awesome posts.

20 thoughts on “Whole grain carrot, zucchini, banana muffins

  1. Yes, I know the muffin man… who lives on Drury Lane? hahaha – I’m not kidding, I know all the lines when it comes to any Shrek movies 1, 2, 3 LOL.

    Oh bananas, I love bananas in anything. Throw some over here. πŸ™‚

      • It’s all AJ’s fault haha.. or should I say, I enjoyed all the movies, too. I’ve not made any muffins/cupcakes apart from the ready made ones. (such a cheat! LOL). But sure, i will definitely give this a go, like the garden baked dish you shared.

      • Lol well I don’t have kids but I still make Edward watch Disney and Pixar movies with me. I especially love the tinkerbell movies lol I’m not even kidding I think the tinker bell movies are some of my favorites.

        These muffins are great because they have multiple fruits and veggies plus essential fatty acids from the chia seeds (although you can use butter if chis seeds are hard to come by).

  2. Hey Kirsten! Thanks for reblogging! One comment on the link back, it’s not linked back properly as I didn’t get a notification :-s you might want to check it out. (P.S. so far you’re leading by the way πŸ˜‰ )

    • Not difficult at all. Just combine the chia seeds with the water and let sit for 5-10 minutes. Not hard at all. I may suggest adding a bit of butter if not to the batter then to the muffins themselves since they are a little bland without it.

    • Life is great after grad school. BUT, yes there’s a but, I’m very bored. I mean I’m taking care of thr house and back to baking but I really wish someone would hire me. Preferably a company offering me a full time job. But I know I should enjoy this break while I can. Once I’m working I know I’ll be wishing for these days again. How are you doing?

      • Good thank you, busy at work! PI can totally relate though, when we first got to Canada I had no work visa and not working was hard!
        I’m sure you’ll find a job in no time though

Share your thoughts :)

