your questions answered:Angiogenesis and anti-angiogenic foods

So awhile back, a friend of mine posed a question to me about angiogenesis and anti-angiogenic foods and what the story is behind them. I apologize for not getting to this sooner but as my followers will know, I have been spending a majority of my time per-occupied with grad school. However, today marked the last day of my first semester of grad school *huge sigh of relief*. So I can now concentrate my energy on my blog and doing some of the posts that some of my friends asked me to do but I just didn’t get around to doing…until now.

What is angiogenesis?

So first off, it may be helpful to explain what angiogenesis is. But before we get into that, I need to first explain metastasis. This term is used with cancer to explain the spreading of cancer calls. Metastasis is the ability of cancer cells to penetrate the blood vessels of the body thereby entering the bloodstream. When this happens, cancer cells are able to travel to other locations within the body and set up camp. Another term associated with all of this is angiogenesis. Angiogenesis is described as being the process by which new blood vessels form allowing for an expanded network of nutrient delivery and waste removal. Cancer cells have the ability to produce messengers that basically redirect blood flow to feed and nurture the abnormal cells i.e. cancer cells and destroy tissues of the body through blood losses.

Anti-angiogenic foods

The idea behind anti-angiogenic foods, then, is that certain foods contain angiogenesis-inhibiting compounds and can help prevent cancer. Another theory is that most of the foods on the list also contain antioxidants which may also have a role in preventing cancer. However, there has not been enough solid research to say that anti-angiogenic foods or antioxidants prevent cancer. However, I did find a list of the anti-angiogenic foods on the oprah.com website from when she did a segment featuring the angiogenesis foundation and its research. Here is the list for those that may be interested:

Green Tea
Strawberries
Blackberries
Raspberries
Blueberries
Oranges
Grapefruit
Lemons
Apples
Pineapple
Cherries
Red Grapes
Red Wine
Bok Choy
Kale
Soybeans
Ginseng
Maitake Mushroom
Licorice
Turmeric
Nutmeg
Artichokes
Lavender
Pumpkin
Sea Cucumber
Tuna
Parsley
Garlic
Tomato
Olive Oil
Grape seed Oil
Dark Chocolate
Pomegranate

Again, this is not my list. The Angiogenesis Foundation came up with this list. More info about them and their research can be found here: http://www.angio.org/

What can I do then to keep my body safe from cancer?

All a person can really do is engage in a healthy lifestyle. Here are some tips expanding on that idea:

– eat a healthful diet

– this means including veggies and fruits at every meal, eating a variety of foods, limiting fried/sugary/processed/unhealthy foods, choosing whole grains over enriched, limiting sugary drinks, being mindful of healthier ways to prepare foods (i.e. baking, broiling, or poaching over frying or charboiling), and also being mindful of healthy options when eating out.

– adopt a physically active lifestyle

– this doesn’t necessarily mean you have to run a marathon every week. Just get up and get active. Don’t sit around all day. Get a pedometer and see how much you can walk in a day (the typical standard is to aim for 10,000 steps a day). Use the stairs instead of the elevator. Start riding your bike to work (if possible). If not possible, then park in the farthest parking space and walk. I make sure to park as far from the entrance as possible whenever I go somewhere just so I can walk the extra distance. Or even just work out during your favorite tv shows or during commercials. Whenever a commercial comes on, do 100 jumping jacks or do some sit ups. Make it fun! It wasn’t until I found a workout I actually enjoyed doing that I was able to stick with it. Kickboxing is something I found out I enjoy so that’s the workout I try to do at least 3 times a week along with jumping jacks and ab workouts thrown in.

– maintain a healthy weight for your body

– there has been a lot of bickering going on about weight, it’s always a hot topic. Women just can’t seem to get along with each other. It’s either “she’s too fat, she must eat all day and not care about herself” or “she’s too skinny, she must not eat at all”. Seriously, it’s getting old. While I try to strive for healthy as opposed to a certain body type, I do have to stress that being overweight or obese is just not healthy. I will say that it is possible to be a bigger size and still be healthy. BUT there are a number of risks associated with being overweight or obese and your chances of getting cancer (breast, colon, endometrium, esophagus, gallbladder, pancreas, and kidney cancer) increase dramatically. So while I’m not trying to say that one body type or body weight is better than another, I am trying to say that letting your body go can result in a lot of detrimental diseases. Just be mindful of how you’re treating your body. You only get one body. Take care of it.

– limit alcohol consumption

– i know that people like to have fun and go out and drink. However, those who drink should be mindful of how much they are drinking. For men, they should limit their consumption to 2 drinks a day and women should limit consumption to 1. Now I know people may have different definitions of what constitutes a drink so here’s the skinny; 1 drink is defined as 12 ounces of beer, 5 ounces of wine, or 1.5 ounces of 80 proof distilled spirits. Increased consumption of alcohol can lead to all kinds of cancers such as mouth, throat, larynx (voice box), esophagus, liver, or breast cancer.

What signs should I look for?

It is extremely important to be aware of your body. I know this sounds silly but what I mean is that you need to pay attention to your body. It will tell you when something is wrong. If you have any of these symptoms, do not write them off. You should see a doctor. Better to be safe than sorry:

* wounds that do not heal

* change in bowel habits or bladder function

* unusual bleeding or discharge

* thickening or lump in breast or other parts of the body

* indigestion or difficulty swallowing

* recent change in a wart or mole

* nagging cough or hoarseness

I just want to end by saying that cancer is a serious disease. Do not try to cure yourself with DIY treatments. If it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is.

26 thoughts on “your questions answered:Angiogenesis and anti-angiogenic foods

  1. Thanks so much for posting on this! I really enjoyed reading it. It’s seriously informative and I appreciate yu sharing your expertise on this one as I did have a friend tell me how amazing this whole angiogenesis thing was and it sounded super gimmicky. Thanks for researching and helping me sort out the facts x

  2. btw, do you know anything about this weird turbosonic machine thing? My bf’s mom is going to this new age health clinic thing to lose weight and they put her on a turbosonic machine thingy. Any idea if that is a gimmick or legit? lol. sorry to bother with so many questions, but you’re now my go to person for all things health as I don’t trust anyone else. Lol, yes I’m paranoid and skeptical… I’m Italian! x

    • You have every right to be paranoid and skeptical. Typically if something sounds too good to be true, that’s because it is. Weight loss is a lifelong commitment. It typically doesn’t happen (and stick) overnight. You have to commit to a healthy lifestyle. But I can’t soapy I’ve heard of this machine so I can’t make an educated

      • Yeah def. I totally agree. I’m trying to lose weight after gaining in the past 2 ish years and it’s tough, but I like to work out so I’d never just stand on a machine and expect it to solve the bad habits of snacking or sedentary lol . that’s just ridiculous, but i guess they’re hacking on the desperate ones. which is not cool. do let me know what you think of the machine though I’m curious. I even saw the machine in a personal trainer place and the owner has a masters in sports medicine. it was so baffling.

      • From your pics I think you look great! Just rememeber, it takes time to put weight on. It will take time for changes to happen. Don’t get discouraged πŸ™‚

        I’ll be busy these next few days but I’ll look into the machine when I get a chance. You never know, maybe it works…or something

      • Thanks, but meh. Midsection, arms and thighs are suffering big time! lol. Yeah I knowww. Ugh I’m so impatient though! Not very virtuous, but whatever lol. No problem; whenever you have a chance no rush. You should take time to relax; you just finished school you don’t want to burn yourself out! lol …or something. sounds so ominous!

      • Well in that case, definitely make sure to incorporate weights into your routine. Even if it’s only free weights, workouts that include weights are much more effective. More muscle = more calories burned thoughtful the day. And after you work out, try to consume both protein (for muscle recovery) and complex carbs (for glycogen recovery). Both are needed for soreness and to make your workouts more effective.

      • You are a gold mine of information!! lol. Thanks for your tips πŸ™‚ Is there no way to build muscle without using weights? My room is small and there’s not a lot of room for weights. Maybe if I have to I’ll pick up a kettlebell like Helene uses. Thanks for giving me these tips. Better get them now while you’re still a student! πŸ˜‰

      • What about a resistance tube? Those work great and don’t require a lot of room. Weights aren’t necessary to build muscle. You could do squats, lunges, burpees for the legs, tricep dips and pushups for the arms. And then use the resistance tube in between. Pinterest has a lot of great workouts on it. Half my workouts are from there

      • Are you talking about resistance bands or? Thanks for talking this out with me. It really helps. Yeah so true.Going there now lol. It’s crazy because I have a lot at my disposal, but it’s like I just don’t think about it my resources. Thanks for reminding me! x

      • Yeah that’s what I meant, resistance bands lol you can see I was starting to get tired :p it does help to talk it out with other people. Sometimes other people see things you didn’t. Glad I could help πŸ™‚ illbe sure to post my workouts soon. Maybe you can give me some pointers too!

    • You have every right to be paranoid and skeptical. Typically if something sounds too good to be true, that’s because it is. Weight loss is a lifelong commitment. It typically doesn’t happen (and stick) overnight. You have to commit to a healthy lifestyle. But I can’t soapy I’ve heard of this machine so I can’t make an educated opinion

Share your thoughts :)

