No knead dough

So this recipe sounded simple enough. Just add 3 cups flour, 1 1/2 cup water, Pinch of salt, and 1/4 tsp yeast, let rise overnight (12 hours), shape into a round loaf, let rise 2 more hours, then bake for 45-60 minutes. So it involved a lot of waiting but the reviews all raved about the end product and how it was all worth it. Yeah, not so much. So why am I including this post if I didn’t like the outcome? This blog is as much for me as it is for you. It’s a way for me to document the recipes i make, whether I like them or not. This one, unfortunately I did not like. For me, it tasted like…dog food. Not that I know what that tastes like because I never ate dog food as a child while waiting for dinner (ok, yes I did that). But yeah I was quite bummed this didn’t turn out. Well, it turned out amazing just the flavor was lacking. The bread itself was actually quite soft inside and crispy on the outside. So if you like that type of bread, maybe give it a try. My other downfall was that I used all whole wheat flour rather than white flour so the flavor and texture were a bit off due to that, at least off compared to what it would have been like with white flour. So while I dont want to waste the time to make it again with white flour, maybe someone else out there will want to. This is just my personal opinion.

The recipe can be found here: http://annastable.blogspot.com/2011/01/rustic-artisanal-no-knead-bread.html?spref=fb

I still wanted to upload the pics I took so enjoy.

Here is the dough before rising:

20120813-102231.jpg

Here is the dough after rising overnight:

20120813-102337.jpg

It’s quite amazing that the bread rose that much with only 1/4 tsp yeast.

Here is the dough after being baked in the oven:

20120813-103801.jpg

have a great bread recipe you’re willing to share? I’d love to see it!

17 thoughts on “No knead dough

      • Thank you! I will try it sometime this week. I am a sucker for a new bread recipe. One note: when I read the original post, I thought maybe it needed more salt since you said it had no flavor. I noticed that the recipe on Anna’s website calls for 1 1/2 t, rather than a pinch. I hope this will make a difference. I will let you know, and thanks for the quick reply. 🙂

      • Oh I don’t think salt would have made a difference with my end product lol it was just…bad. The animals in my backyard are now enjoying this bread.

        I’m sure white flour will turn out better. I just prefer to use whole wheat flour for the whole grains and fiber. Sometimes breads don’t always turn out right with it though.

  1. You are right. I try ww flour first, then half and half if that doesn’t work. I will go all white flour on this since you have already done one test run. lol. I have made bread so bad the animals would NOT have eaten it, so don’t feel bad. 🙂

    • lol yeah some of my end products i have just thrown away because i didn’t want to subject any innocent animals to the nastiness haha. at least now we know using all whole wheat flour = bad idea. let me know what works for you! sometimes i get the urge for just plain old white flour so if it ends up working for you, i may give it another go.

  2. I wonder if you might like the whole wheat bread I practically lived on last winter. lol. I didn’t mean to hijack your blog to promote mine, but this recipe is so similar to the one you posted…you might like this. It doesn’t get thick enough to roll out, fold over, etc like your recipe. You just plop the risen dough into a pan. lol. It comes out very dense, but not hard. Just heavy and comforting. I ate it for a meal or two everyday for awhile. I just added some veggies or fruit to it each time. Or homemade soup. Here’s the link: http://wp.me/p1vhCv-fB . I am still going to try yours, because like I said, I love bread! 🙂

  3. So, I finally tried the recipe, as promised. I added the full 1 1/2 t. of salt from the original recipe link, and I thought the taste was just great. I evidently did something wrong tho, because it was kinda flat. More like focaccia bread, crispy on the outside and soft inside. No pretty rustic loaf like in the photo. lol. Maybe my yeast was cranky that day. Either way, I am going to do it again, with the intention of focaccia, and add some herbs and garlic this time. Dunk it in some marinara or serve it on the side of some homemade soup. 🙂

Share your thoughts :)

