Breakfast for dinner: baked French toast

Today was the perfect day for staying inside, sipping tea, catching up on tv shows on Netflix. And that’s exactly what I did today. I made some homemade chai tea, had a greys anatomy marathon, and baked. One of the recipes I’m making requires waiting 12-24 hours before proceeding with the rest of recipe so I will not be posting that recipe until tomorrow at the earliest. However the other recipe is definitely one I will be making again and again; baked French toast!

Let me start by saying that French toast and I do not get along. Until now. I used to try to make French toast and it always came out ugly and flavorless and just wrong. So I gave up trying. Until today. Edward decided he was in the mood for French toast. Uh oh. What’s a girl to do? A girl is to get get on her iPad and look up recipe after recipe for French toast. And that’s what I did. I remembered pinning a baked French toast recipe months ago on pinterest so I sought it out and of course modified it to suit mine and Edwards preferences. One of those modifications entailed making the French toast right away as opposed to letting it sit overnight, really who wants to wait that long? I thought the end product was still amazing even without waiting overnight so it’s up to you.

Original recipe here: http://sheldonrachel.blogspot.com/2009/03/french-toast-bake.html
ingredients
– 1/2 cup melted butter
– 1/2 cup brown sugar
– sprinkle of cinnamon
– 4 slices whole wheat bread (I left the crust on)
– 4 eggs
– 1 cup milk
– 1 tsp vanilla

directions
1) preheat oven to 350 degrees f. Grease a 5 1/2 by 9 1/2in bread load pan.
2) Melt,your butter in the pan (make sure the pan is microwaveable first, of course). Add in your brown sugar and cinnamon and then lay two slices of bread on the bottom of the pan. Two slices of bread should fit perfectly on the bottom of the pan. Flip the slices over so both sides are evenly coated with your butter and sugar mixture. Remove the slices and coat the other bread slices. Leave these two ones in the pan. Set aside.
3) mix together your eggs and milk and vanilla. Pour half of the mixture over your two bread slices. Add the other two bread slices on top and add the rest of your egg mixture. I didn’t use all of thr egg mixture. I probably used 80% of it.
4) cover and bake in the oven for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, remove cover and bake for 15 more minutes. Your French toast will puff up while baking. Let cool and if desired, sprinkle some powdered sugar on top. I personally thought they were sweet enough without it.

20120811-215754.jpg

This quite possibly was one of the best dinners I’ve had in a long time. I guess I should thank Edward for requesting it :p

3 thoughts on “Breakfast for dinner: baked French toast

  1. Pingback: Breakfast at Sugar Mags « communicating.across.boundaries

Share your thoughts :)

