Product Review: Duncan Hines Simple Mornings Triple Chocolate Chunk Muffins

As some of you may recall, I already did a product review of this same brand, just a different muffin flavor. My original product review was of the blueberry muffins. That review can be found here -> https://f00dventures.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/product-review-duncan-hines-simple-mornings-wild-maine-blueberry-muffins/

So first off, let me start by discussing the nutritional qualities these muffins possess. They have similar ingredients to the blueberry muffins such as whole wheat flour and 3 grams of fiber per muffin (if you made 12 muffins). Each muffin packed 240 calories which was pretty much expected since they contain not one, not two, but triple chocolate chunks! I made these exactly the same as the other blueberry muffins, well I can’t say I added oats or blueberries. But I added in the two eggs, the water, and again used coconut oil so I could make a true comparison between the two flavors. I didn’t want to risk using, say, canola oil and possibly get a different end product than I would have gotten if I had used coconut oil.

Taste wise, these muffins passed the test. I’m not sure if it was the chocolate or this mix is just a better quality than that found in the blueberry mix, or just a combination of both of these factors. Whatever the reason, I’m glad I decided to give these muffins a chance. They are soft and moist and full of ooey gooey chocolate. In addition, the outer rims became nice and crispy reminiscent of a brownie. I did file these under the ‘breakfast munchies’ tab since they are technically still a muffin but these are quite rich and I almost feel like they would be too heavy as a breakfast. To me these are the perfect snack to top off your day. I found them to be the perfect little reward after a hard day of volunteering at the farmer’s market, running errands, doing chores around the house (doing loads of laundry), and completing grad school assignments.

Final assessment:

These muffins were a hit! If you end up at the store standing in front of the Duncan Hines display at a loss of which one to pick, I”ll make it real easy for you. GO WITH THE CHOCOLATE 😉

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Duncan Hines Simple Mornings Triple Chocolate Chunk Muffins

Share your thoughts :)

