Product review: grandessa signature roasted red pepper hummus AND wheat thins sundried tomato and basil

20120707-122424.jpg

You may recall from a previous post that I’m always a bit apprehensive when it comes to hummus. Well my mom brought home some roasted red pepper flavored hummus from meijer (i lied, i found this at Aldi) in hopes that I would try it. Everyday I would stare at it, sometimes taking the lid off to smell it but each time ended the same way, with me returning the product back to the refrigerator untouched.

Finally, last night I had a craving for a midnight snack. I saw the sundried tomato basil wheat thins we had just bought and after trying a few, decided that the roasted red pepper hummus would complement the flavors in the wheat thins quite well. I was only basing this on smell alone when it came to the hummus but i was right about the two products complementing each other. The sundried tomato basil wheat thins have a nice zesty pizza flavor and the hummus has a nice spice to it. When combined, the flavors are just out of this world.

Although I can’t say the wheat thins are the healthiest thing in the world, they are at least made with whole grains and serve up 3 grams of fiber per serving (15 crackers).

The hummus, on the other hand is made with natural ingredients and also offers 3 grams of fiber per serving (2 tbsp).

So when combined, you get a great snack that offers up grains, legumes, fiber, protein, and also essential fatty acids (the hummus also contains olive oil).

I will definitely be picking up more of this hummus in the future.

2 thoughts on “Product review: grandessa signature roasted red pepper hummus AND wheat thins sundried tomato and basil

  1. I never liked hummus either, but Chris loves it. Im starting to like it more and more. I think it’s more of getting used to the texture.

    • I’m finding I don’t like the taste of plain hummus. I only like it if it has a flavor to it (like this roasted red pepper one). You should try it. Surprisingly it was really good.

Share your thoughts :)

