Product review: Duncan Hines simple mornings wild Maine blueberry muffins

I actually made these about a week ago. Edward has a soft spot for blueberry muffins so we picked these up. Well, correction, I picked these up. Edward had originally wanted to get the krusteaz brand (we have had them before and know we like them) but then I spied the duncan Hines brand and noticed the more “natural” and “healthy” ingredients (at least compared to the other muffin brands. So I expressed my interest in this brand however Edward was a little preoccupied with his phone to really pay attention to what I was doing. So he thought we were bringing home the krusteaz brand when in reality we were bringing home the Duncan Hines brand.

Even though we went shopping at around 10:30 pm, Edward decided he wanted the muffins that night and when he gives me those puppy dog eyes of his, it’s hard to say “no”. Plus, I was interested in how this brand tasted as well so I willingly made them.

20120627-120033.jpg

Nutrition wise, I did like these that they were made with whole wheat flour and, I may be wrong, but I believe each muffin contained around 3 g of fiber (this applied if you made 12 muffins). Like your other typical muffin mixes, you have to add in 2 eggs, water, and some oil. I actually chose to use coconut oil. And again, like any typical mix, you could make 6 jumbo muffins, 12 regular muffins, or 36 mini muffins. I chose to go the standard route and just make 12 regular sized muffins. I added some oats on top because I thought it would add a little something “extra”, both taste wise and appearance wise. I also added fresh blueberries since we had extra in the fridge and I thought it would be nice to have fresh blueberries in blueberry muffins.

20120627-120052.jpg

 

Taste wise, well, Edward and I both were a bit disappointed. They definitely didn’t taste like your standard muffin mix. They tasted….kind of dry and old. I was definitely disappointed. Edward more-so disappointed than me. Needless to say, despite their whole wheat flour and 3 grams of fiber, I couldn’t bring myself to eat them. Nor could Edward. They did have other flavor choices (like apple cinnamon and there was also a chocolate one) so if I’m feeling up to it, I may try a different flavor and see how they turn out. But I know if Edward wants his muffins, to just go with our trusted brand and get krusteaz. They always deliver taste wise, not only on their muffin mixes but in all of their products.

Final thoughts:
Try these at your own risk.

7 thoughts on “Product review: Duncan Hines simple mornings wild Maine blueberry muffins

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Duncan Hines Simple Mornings Triple Chocolate Chunk Muffins « f00dventures

  2. I did the same thing I also used coconut but I cooked them less then the box said and mine came out so soft and good another batch we added strawberrys with the blueberries and that made them fall apart good…I don’t know if they got the formula right now but if they come out like they have I will buy again…

  3. I just made some with coconut oil,I baked them less time then the box said and they were so soft and good…next box I used strawberries and they fell apart.
    It is a year later now so maybe the formula is better.

Share your thoughts :)

