Product review: Turkish delight

20120625-103433.jpg

20120625-103439.jpg

If any of you have read or seen ‘the chronicles of Narnia‘ then you will know or at least heard of Turkish delight. I have tried it before so I am familiar with the product. Edward and I found the box above while shopping at Meijer and picked it up on a whim.

So just a bit of history on this sugary sweet delight. The origin of Turkish delight aka lokum dates back to the Ottoman empire. Interestingly, the recipe for the most part has remained unchanged since its inception. It was first produced for a famous sultan who wanted to please his many wives by creating a unique sweet. The confectioner did just that by blending together sugar syrup, various flavorings, nuts, and dried fruits then binding them together with gum Arabic. After multiple attempts, Turkish delight was finally created. The sultan was so taken with this new dessert that he appointed the confectioner the court’s chief confectioner and had a plate of Turkish delight served at every feast in the ottoman court, thereafter.

Turkish delight wasn’t unveiled to the west until the 19th century but it has become a treat that is now enjoyed worldwide. Typically its subtle flavors were used to compliment coffee and sweeten the breath after a meal but it has increasingly become much more than just an after meal delight. It is a confection that is enjoyed year round.

The flavor we purchased was rose and it does have a nice subtle flavor. The first time we purchased this confection we had gotten a mix of flavors which was nice so we could taste the different varieties of flavors available. If I had know this box only had one flavor, I’m not sure if I would have been as keen on purchasing it. Don’t get me wrong, I like the flavor but I’m pretty much the only one eating it and after awhile, it can get to be a bit much.

The one thing I’m not so fond of is the amount of sugar. This is definitely not a healthy treat at all. Two pieces of Turkish delight contain 37 g of sugar. That’s quite a lot. No offense to the Turkish delight but personally, if I’m going to eat that much sugar, I’d rather eat something I really enjoy (like chocolate). So although I do enjoy having a piece or two a day, it’s definitely not something I would eat on a regular basis.

Final thought:
While I do enjoy the subtle flavors of this confection, As mentioned above, it’s not something I would eat all of the time. Or even that often. It’s a nice treat to try if you’ve never had it but due to the amount of sugar it contains, I wouldn’t make this dessert an everyday thing. And if you do purchase it, make sure you have someone to share the wealth with.

3 thoughts on “Product review: Turkish delight

  1. Oh, wow! I LOVE the Chronicles of Narnia and always wondered if Turkish Delight was real. I thought you were going to have a recipe to make it but, alas, I was wrong. I really liked how you put the history of the delicacy with your trial of it. THEN I saw below that post one on Ethiopian food. SO hungry now. Thanks for liking my blog. Come back to visit anytime.

    • thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I’m not sure if you saw but I did leave a comment on your post as well. My comments for some reason have been getting marked as spam on a majority of blogs.

      If you have never had Ethiopian, you should definitely try it. It’s one of my favorites types of food. Now I want some lol

      • Oh, I’ve had Ethiopian. I went to this great restaurant in D.C. a few years ago with a group from my college. Eating with fingers, sitting on the floor, and honey wine– you can’t beat it! Unfortunately I haven’t seen the comment. But thanks for the effort anyway. That’s too bad you keep getting marked as spam. I’d try to help, but I’m way too new at this!

Share your thoughts :)

