Garden veggie bake

I was inspired to do this recipe due to all of the baked recipes I’ve seen lately for veggies. I didn’t really follow a recipe, I just went with my gut.

20120619-163027.jpg20120619-163047.jpg

ingredients
– 1 large carrot, thinly slices
– 1 zucchini, thinly sliced
– 1 bag frozen cauliflower
– 1/4 of an onion, diced
– 3 cloves garlic, diced
– green onion, diced (I didn’t really measure, so just add to taste)
olive oil
– salt and pepper to taste
– shredded cheese to add after baked
– 2 tbsp chia seeds (optional)

directions
1) preheat oven to 400 degrees f. Line a glass baking dish with olive oil. Set aside.
2) start by following the directions on the back of the cauliflower to thaw it (usually you just have to microwave it for about 3 minutes). Once thawed, add to your baking dish.
3) dice up your veggies (garlic, onion, green onion) and add to the dish as well.
4) thinly slice your carrot and zucchini and add those to the baking dish.
5) using your hands, mix the veggies with the olive oil until they all have a nice coat on them. Sprinkle salt and pepper on top (and chia seeds if using) then pop in the oven and bake for about 40 minutes.
6) enjoy 🙂

This is a great simple dish to make if you’re not really in the mood for rice or meat or pasta. This can of course be added to any of those things but I was in the mood for just veggies today. To top it off, I just added a bit of shredded cheese (not a lot, just enough to add a subtle flavor).

– carrots are high in vitamins a and k and also a great source of fiber. I also have a post about fiber. It can be found at the bottom of my post about whole grains (found here). Recent research has found a new group of phytonutrients in carrots called polyacetylenes. The most important ones in carrots are falcarinol and flacarindiol. Several studies have shown these phytonutrients to inhibit the growth of colon cancer cells. Not only can the phytonutrients in carrots help prevent oxidative damage in our bodies but may also help prevent oxidative damage to the carrot polyacetylenes.
– olive oil is a great source of monounsaturated fats, like oleic acid which is an omega 9 fatty acid. Diets low in monounsaturated fats can help decrease total blood cholesterol, LDL cholesterol, and LDL:HDL ratio. Olive oil also has been shown to have ant-inflammatory compounds (poly phenols), cardiovascular benefits, digestive health benefits, bone health benefits, cognitive benefits, and anti-cancer benefits.
black pepper is a relatively good source of manganese (antioxidant). Has also been shown to be beneficial in improving digestion and promoting intestinal health.
– salt is composed of sodium (about 40%) and iodine (about 60%). Iodine is an important mineral for the body. A lack of iodine in the diet can cause goiter, enlarged thyroid gland. However, most people get plenty of salt in their diet and fortunately iodine can also be found in yogurt, milk, eggs, strawberries, and cheese.

– When it comes to green onions, they have a lot of great benefits. Research has shown eating Onions may result in a number of health benefits, including lower blood pressure and cholesterol levels. Onions also contain a substance that prevents the formation of blood clots. Green Onions are also a good source of vitamin C, iron (needed to form hemoglobin which carries oxygen throughout the body. Also regulates energy and skin tone), calcium (builds and maintains bone mass), and fiber.

– onions are a pretty good source of vitamin c but what they’re really good for is their flavonoid and polyphenol content. The total polyphenol content of onion is not only higher than its fellow allium vegetables, garlic and leeks, but also higher than tomatoes, carrots, and red bell pepper. Be sure to check out my post on antioxidants to read more about these amazing nutrients and what they can do for you.

– garlic is a relatively good source of manganese (an antioxidant). interestingly, it may also have a role in determining the number of fat cells that get formed in the body. Garlic is also responsible for improving iron metabolism.

– cauliflower is a great source of vitamin c and vitamin k. Cauliflower is also a great “detoxifier”. It contains phytonutrients called glucosinolates that can help activate detoxification enzymes and regulate their activity.It is especially important to include not only cauliflower but other antioxidant rich foods into our diet as these help activate those detoxification enzymes. If we fail to include these in our diet, then we are at risk of exposing ourselves to unwanted toxins which, over time, places our body at risk of toxin related damage that can eventually increase our cells’ risk of becoming cancerous. I also have a few posts about the importance of antioxidants and free radicals (links below)

antioxidants and free radicals

Aunti Oxidant kicks out the free radicals

Bon appetite

10 thoughts on “Garden veggie bake

  1. Oh my, my little boy would love this! I love all the vegetables you have in there, especially the zucchini one (which somehow we call it courgette here). I normally just steam or boil them since my little one loves them so much even on its own. But now I am going to try this and sprinkle Emmental cheese which I have in the fridge. Thank you for giving me this idea.

    • That is so great that your little one loves these types of foods. I wouldn’t go near these foods when I was a kid. I’m just now experiencing them and I’m a little sad i waited so long. Let me know how it comes out for you and if your little one approves of the recipe :p

      • We’re the same! My nan used to force me to eat veggies and I would run and hide LOL. I’ve only started eating veggies when I was pregnant and have carried on since then. So I am very glad that my little one loves this foods now at an early age. I just hope he’ll keep it up though. I shall let you know, definitely!

      • Lol at least we’re including them in our diet now. We rectified our ways 😉

        Oh and this recipe is really good with the shredded cheese on top. Helps mask the flavor a bit if you’re not a huge fan of some of the veggies. Plus, cheese just adds a nice flavor overall.

  2. Reblogged this on bibeautyful and commented:
    I should thank f00dventures for this wonderful post, which inspired me to make our version of this ‘Garden veggie bake’. To be honest, I wasn’t a big veggie eater until I fell pregnant. Somehow I just embraced all things vegetables and carried on savouring their healthy goodness even after I gave birth. Luckily, my little boy loves vegetables. So when I made this little dish, it was a winner! And the Emmental cheese which I sprinkled in the end, just gave this wonderful aroma and added sweetness and nuttiness flavour to this dish. It was definitely yummy-licious!

  3. Pingback: How to raise a healthy eater: Part 3 | f00dventures

  4. Pingback: How to raise a healthy eater: Part 5 « f00dventures

  5. Pingback: Squash and zucchini egg bake « f00dventures

Share your thoughts :)

